Atlantis Resort Reviews

1 Casino Drive, Paradise Island,
What do you think about Atlantis Resort?
Please Review This Hotel:
select a rating

60%
families recommend
 
 
  30 family reviews

Read more about Atlantis Resort
Never again - horrible customer service by trentorley
This was my fourth visit to Atlantis and the resport service has gone down considerably over the last two years. Basic things such as clean towels and face cloths not being refreshed were an every day occurence. The prompt response team ... more did not respond at all which is ironic. I travel a lot for both work and leisure and will not stay at Atlantis again given the cost vs. what you get. With the new resort on Cable Beach scheduled to be completed later this year we will opt for that facility instead. The water activities are fun however extremely over crowded with cruise ship visitors on day passes. We also waited up to 20 minutes to get towels and over 30 minutes on our first day for our wrist bands. If you want to use the facilities I would recommend staying somewhere else and then buying a day pass. The hotel is sub-par at best (we Stayed in the Royal Towers).

Date of Stay: 03/08/2014
Children in Party: 1


Kids (7-9)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


Overpriced and the worst Customer Service by dtjensen7
Atlantis Review:
Incredibly poor customer service: everyone on staff has become an expert at passing the buck. If you have a problem, you will be passed from indifferent person to even more apathetic person for the first 30 ... more minutes until finally someone will say "sorry" but offer no consideration or a solution.

Facilities: The Royal Towers public areas are super smoky. It is mainly a Casino so the entire area smells like a smoky bar. The Royal Towers is looking quite old with rust from rebar sticking through most walls. It is certainly showing its age. The facilities were not at all what I expected from the TV advertisements. There is only one restaurant in the royal towers and it is an expensive and not good buffet. All the other restaurants are about a 10 minute walk through the smoky casino area.

Booking complications: Our airline cancelled our 7 am flight from Denver and informed all booking agents and direct bookings that the flight had been cancelled. Atlantis, our booking agent in this case, was informed of the cancellation but failed to inform us. What this meant is that I got my family up at 4 a.m. (Wife, daughters of 4 and 9 years old) and headed to the airport only to find out the flight was cancelled and the next flight left at 1 pm. Airtran must have cancelled the flight some time the prior evening after I had confirmed the flight. We were the only ones at the airport for that flight b/c everyone else had been contacted according to the airline agent. This meant we would have to spend half the day at the Denver airport and the night in Atlanta because there were no other flights available from Atlanta to Nassau until 1 pm the next day. The hotel was clearly to blame for not informing us of the change in flights. They again offered no consideration for this.

The Dolphin experience: They could not find our booking. Again, I called many people with everyone passing the buck to PIV in Florida. My wife had to go back to the room to find the printed confirmation. The reservation was paid for with my name and my address but for the benefit of someone else. We waited 45 minutes again trying to find the reservation. The point is that if you have to go to Atlantis print every single document you receive and carry it with you like your passport. Without all these documents, you really do not have a reservation and you will not be helped. This applies to everything from dinner reservations, to Dolphin Experience, to the Majestic Tour Airport Shuttle etc.

Consideration: For the failed airline cancellation notice issue, I was not charged for the night we spent in Atlanta, Georgia and I was given the $200 resort Winter booking credit which by the way everyone arriving in January receives. In our opinion, this is no consideration at all.

Overpriced and supplemental costs: You need to know that they charge a mandatory gratuity for everything: A 15% mandatory gratuity on all food (not knowing this I mistakenly double tipped); $5 per guest per room Housekeeping gratuity per day -- For a Family of 4, this is $20 per day; Taxes of course; $15 per day to use the fitness room. The point is that you are paying 5 star hotel prices for a low 4 star quality hotel and then they tack on a lot of gratuity charges. The staff all knows they receive the gratuity either way so the consequence is very poor customer service.

Conclusion: Avoid Atlantis at all costs. Hawaii is a much better value. If you must go to Bahamas, I suggest waiting until the Bahamar opens.


Date of Stay: 01/05/2014
Children in Party: 2


Kids (3-6)
Kids (7-9)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


Enter dates for best prices



Atlantis Fun by becker
We just returned home after a amazing time at Atlantis. Our spending goal for 4 days was $1,000.00 and we managed to stick to it for 2 adults and a 6yr old.

We took into consideration all the reviews. The things we used ... more the most. Sun Block we used 1 spray bottle and 1/2 bottle of lotion for the 3 of us. We did pack a small suit case with 2 things of juice boxes and lots of snacks along with a collapsible cooler to bring to the beach. I packed reusable water bottles, I drank tap water and I didn't get sick (bottle water was expensive unless you purchased a few gallons and use them) I decided to fill my bottle from the faucet in the room, ice is free and there is a refrigerator in the room. Flip flops and my son was in crocs the whole trip, I did over pack 4 pairs of heels wearing only 1. Sunglasses a must, no need to bring towels they provide them for you.

Eating,
The first night we ate at Jonny Rockets, about $15.00 for a burger. We tried the Market Place Buffet for breakfast great variety but, quite expensive. We learned that Dunkin Doughnuts and Starbucks were much cheaper the following mornings. Kids eat free is limited to specific places and they have to eat off the kids menu. The Lagoon bar was great, we did venture out to the Fish Fry in town lots of walking and the cab ride costing about $15.00 each way.

Using your cell phone, change your plan before you leave, the internet is not free, your looking at $20.00 per day. I purchased 2 days and that was all we used. I think if we stayed longer we would have spent more money, I would have liked to swim with the Dolphins, or go on the glass bottom boat. But for the 4 days we were there, we had plenty to do.

To sum it all up, we had a great time and we tried to be conservative with breakfast and lunch but, dinner that was another story, we lived it up. I was loving the island drinks.



Date of Stay: 02/25/2013
Children in Party: 1


Kids (3-6)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


A great adventure by eberger
We really did enjoy being at Atlantis on our family vacation. We haven't done resort travel in a long time and forgot how much fun it can be - we also forgot how tiresome it can be. The waterparks are great! The kids took off for much ... more of the day and we'd see them swing by on their tubes every 30 minutes or so. That made the trip a blast for everyone, my husband and I enjoyed relaxing by the pool. As everyone says, it is expensive.

Our room had a kitchenette so we ate all of our breakfast in our room - we ordered groceries online on food store 2 go who delivered right to our hotel. We packed snacks for the pool so didn't have to wait in long lines and pay high prices for the snack shops during the day. Dinners were great - kids loved Johnny rockets for the burgers. Splurged on Seafire Grill for one of the best steaks my husband ever had.

It's a big place so be prepared for a lot of walking - no running back to the room if you forget something. I recommend it for families with kids - just be sure to be a good planner and you'll enjoy it too!

Date of Stay: 12/18/2012
Children in Party: 2


Kids (7-9)
Tweens (10-12)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


Hospitality or Held Hostage? ....not worth the money at all. by jorge123
Our trip to the Atlantis was an extremely expensive trip. It was extremely expensive when we booked the vacation and then it just got ridiculously expensive when we were there. To say they nickle-and-dime you for everything would be an ... more understatement.
The water at the hotel is undrinkable. It smells like rotten eggs.... So they charge you $7.00 a bottle for drinkable water. The least expensive beer was almost $8.00. This is not some hi-brow speciality beer but Kalik...a PBR type Bahamian brew. A ceasar salad costs $30. and if you want to add chicken to that prepare to add an additional $16.....so at $46. you think you'd get the best ceasar salad you ever had right?....Not at all...very basic and average at best....
The room we stayed in was just ok. It probably was comparable to a room at a Holiday Inn room for $99./night....But that is not even close to what we paid per night.... The TV didn't work....The request to have it fixed was ignored....The bathrooms looked as if they were in need of repair. dirty tile floors and too many coats of paint slapped on the walls carelessly overlapping on to the toilet tank lid....It was not a first class accommodation...
For tasteless coffee and basic bagels we were spending $50.+ each morning. I finally found a Dunkin Doughnuts just outside of the resort at the end of the marina (Take a left at the end, because the exit is not obvious) where I would instead spend $18. for the same breakfast....We noticed a steady stream of hotel guests making this same trip each morning.
The drinks at the bar were always over $10. or $11. each and I guess that is about right in a resort if they actually put any rum in the glass...overly sweet and full of ice but no booze....I found a liquor store near the Dunkin Doughnuts where I bought a large bottle of Meyers rum for $15. and took care of that problem.
Generally, the service is very slow (but mostly friendly) for everything and they have already added the gratuity in for each purchase...I was wondering if I could write a negative-tip in on the "additional tip" line when I received the slow (and infrequent rude) service....
I read some where that the Atlantis resort had just went through financial restructuring earlier in 2012. You can tell that the "brain-trust" at the top has decided to cut way back on as many expenses as possible and to turn on the revenue pipe-line full blast....that pipe line is fed directly out of our back right-hand pockets.....a huge sucking sound could be heard near my wallet every time I opened it...Every move you make at the Atlantis will cost you...Beware....
I have had the opportunity to stay in some very nice resorts and don't mind spending money for accommodations that are equal to the costs...The Atlantis did not deliver.
I would never plan on going back to the Atlantis but I would plan on going back to the Bahamas. The people are generally very nice, the island is beautiful, and the weather was perfect.


Date of Stay: 12/26/2012
Children in Party: 4


Tweens (13+)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


Be prepared to spend..spend...spend by qutypy
The old girl aint what she use to be...Time is showing her age and no one is addressing it. The grounds are not kept up at all. Lots of dead plantings and trees in poor shape, The buildings desperately need a new paint job as well as ... more interiors. We stayed in Royal towers and it was looking shabby. The casino is very very understaffed as are the various snack places around the pools. Be prepared for long lines to get a water bottle. Bars on property are nice. Not too crowded. A lot of men wearing their Tommy Bahamas for the first time.

Very expensive vacation. DInner for 5 at buffet was almost $300 and coffee and muffins for 5 one morning was almost $50.

Service at restaurants is VERY slow and dont expect water or coffee refills without multiple requests. I guess this is what you have to expect for a property this size. Still a beautiful island with great weather and apparently lots of families have lots of money .

Our second time here in about 8 years but I would guess our last. Been there...done that...

Date of Stay: 12/22/2012
Children in Party: 3


Tweens (10-12)
Tweens (13+)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


Atlantis Pinches Every Penny out of You and spoils your vacation by sandman16
I Have never stayed at a vacation resort and could not use the fitness facility without having to pay 15$ per day. Are you kidding me!!!! When booking the meal plans they do not tell you that you will also have to pay gratuities on top ... more of the price you are paying for the meal plan. Atlantis needs to realize people are on vacation and are not looking to be nickeled and dimed. There is not a lot to do at the Atlantis unless you are willing to pay pay pay. Even their magic show--when you get to joker's wild room they charge 15$ for adults and $10 for kids. The only thing that is included in the vacation is a movie theatre which was actually pretty nice. After spending so much money at the Atlantis my wife and I have decided to vacation at all inclusive's in the future. Pools and beaches were very nice and so was the food.

Date of Stay: 08/30/2012
Children in Party: 2


Kids (3-6)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


shocking by BUBBLES30
Upon checkin the rooms was not ready at the time but that was fine we could use the beach and the pool. they also have a lounge where you can change into your bathing suites that was cool.The room was amazing we stay at the cove.There was ... more lots of kids, the restaurants are great if you go dine at DUNES,MESA GRILL and Mosaic. What was surprising is that the managers does not know what they are doing. It's like they have to call on certain people for things they should know how to do. We had a few concerns with the TV,WATER,MINI BAR ECT. When I went back for my room it was not ready,a girl by the name FIONA had to help the hotel manager. I have never seen this before a manger can not do the job. Everything i ask he went to her.

If you need help don't ask for a hotel manager ask for Fiona,she works at the front desk. GREAT SMILE

Date of Stay: 07/23/2012
Children in Party: 2


Tweens (10-12)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


Big resort, bigger let down by Cruise man
We recently went to Atlantis as an excursion on our cruise. We purchased all access passes for a depressing $300 per ticket! Our first activity was a deep water swim at dolphin cay which basically consisted of us getting into a pool with a ... more dolphin and watching the trainer interact with it. We were cautioned not to touch the dolphin anywhere but on its back and the trainer basically kept the dolphin with him the entire time. We then explored the aquarium exhibits which was not at all impressive. There are much better aquariums in the US that actually provide marine life as a learning experience rather than in dirty, aging tanks full of sad looking animals with nowhere to swim. Then we tried the water park. The lines were hours long per slide and the lazy river was crammed with so many people that tubes were touching eachother the entire ride. The hotel buildings are aging and had a very distinct "old hotel" smell inside that you would expect to find at a Howard Johnson or Super 8, not a pricey resort! To put it all in perspective, we paid $300 per ticket to visit the Atlantis, arrived at 8am, and decided to return to our ship at 11am even though we had paid to stay the entire day. I'm glad we experienced it this way though because prior to our visit, we had seriously considered a weeks vacation at the resort- never will we consider that again!

Date of Stay: 06/25/2012
Children in Party: 1


Tweens (10-12)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


No Water Tubes!! by lsmith22
Our family visited Atlantis 12 years ago and I was really surprised on the upkeep of the landscape and the buildings. But our main complaint was the water park. We looked for over 2 hours to find a water tube to ride the water rides and ... more finally we just gave up. For $169 dollars a person ...very disappointed and a terrible experience!! Wasn't worth the money!

Date of Stay: 06/07/2012
Children in Party: 2


Tweens (10-12)
Tweens (13+)
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


RESORT????? You may want to Reconsider!! by outlaw4
A vacation to the Bahamas.... "priceless", staying at the renowned Atlantis....OVERPRICED and OVERRATED!!!
I must start by saying that we had numerous positive experiences with some of the employees during our stay. Our ... more time at Dolphin Cay was magical and The MarketPlace (ask for Annie Mae and Dolly)in the Royal Towers was one of our most positive dining experiences. I can count on one hand the amount of helpful "waterslide watchers" that were actually pleasant, but those that were helpful, definitely went above and beyond to make us feel "worthy"! We also LOVED, LOVED, LOVED "Earth and Fire", the pottery place located in the Beach Tower! If you have the pleasure of meeting "Kim", you will feel truly blessed!
The weather in January is absolutely beautiful and a great escape from the cold temperatures in NC during the winter. However, when we decide to go on a vacation, especially when we decided to book it at a "RESORT", we fully expect just that.....to be on vacation from the "real world", and to be treated in a "resort" kind of manner! We found ourselves walking around in circles trying to figure out where we were supposed to be (we often were told 2-3 different things by the different employees that we had to ask), rethinking dinner plans because of several restaurants on our dining plan being closed, or avoiding asking a resort employee for guidance, for fear that we would "inconvenience" them!
The "Braid Ladies" on the beach.....be careful, one wrong comment, and you are DONE! I was approached about having my daughter's hair braided, but was needing to meet up with my husband who was checking emails during his 15 minute free email time, so I innocently said, "I don't think I have time now, but plan to come back. I have to meet my husband". Well, needless to say, I sat down to get 3 braids (@ $10.00 a piece!!!!!) and had to endure an indirect "tonguelashing" from one of the braiders!
Our son wanted to attempt the rock climbing wall, and we intended to do so, but were disappointed by lack of service (1 man running the wall, 1 man in the "hut" talking on a cell phone). After 8-10 minutes of waiting, and being the only ones there other than the child climbing, we decided to just walk away. Yet another bump in our path!
After I had heard so many positive things about Atlantis, I truly was looking something more, and more importantly, Magical! I think it's safe to say that during their "OFF SEASON", a large part of the Atlantis employees feel they are "OFF THE CLOCK"! I chalk it up to bad timing!

Date of Stay: 01/16/2012
Children in Party: 2


Kids (3-6)
Kids (7-9)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


Not so by ClaudiaIga
I have to say I was not very impressed with the resort itself or the service. It was a nice place, but a far cry from paradise. For the amount of money it costs to go and stay there, you would think that you would be treated better. The ... more room at the Coral towers was decent at best. It seemed a little outdated. The water park itself was great for the kids..lots to do for them, so that was nice.

The beach wasn't as beautiful as I thought it would be...it was ok. If you want to pick shells, forget about it! There are none! The locals pick them all and make things out of them and try to sell them to you for a ridiculous price. Although it was a nice place overall, I would not recommend Atlantis to anyone I know..I didn't feel that it was worth the money I paid.

Date of Stay: 08/17/2011
Children in Party: 1


Kids (7-9)
Tweens (10-12)


Atlantis is BIG Fun, but definitely has a BIG PRICE TAG by jjjcharon
I read all the reviews posted, but I have never posted one before. This experience made me want to post my experience in an attempt to help others. Atlantis is a beautiful property and an experience compared to no other. The reviews are ... more right...it is very expensive! $4 for a can of soda! No joke. So, we stayed in the Royal Towers (beautiful), good location in the water park area; however, we enjoyed the marina area the most and the less expensive hotels were over there...that is the Beach and I think it is the Coral. Might be advantageous to save the extra money and stay in one of those hotels. Decor is the same, but they are much livelier hotels. I assume because more people stay in the less expensive hotels. We would have rather stayed over there because of the atmosphere for our 11 year old. More to do...right by the library, theater, marina, less expensive eating such as Johnny Rockets. In fact...from my understanding, you can stay at Comfort Suites and get all the same access to Atlantis. Comfort Suites is RIGHT there...seems as though it IS part of the property. Also, we chose to eat at Anthony's and that is not on the Atlantis property (although you would not realize it by walking around there) and the price and value is much better than on the Atlantis property. $15 for a HUGE hamburger and fries.

My suggestion, is stay in a room for less cost because you will end up spending the savings on food! I did not do the meal plan. I thought there could be no way I would spend $150 a day for 3 people to eat...I was wrong! I spent $130 for buffet dinner for 2 adults and 1 child in the MarketPlace restaurant located in the Royal Towers and it was not an amazing buffet. It was no better than what I could get at our local Country Buffet.

Don't get me wrong, I am not complaining about our stay. It truly was wonderful; however, if you are on a budget, there are definite ways to save money without losing any of the experience.
The 1 complaint I truly have is the Dan Knowles transfer from the airport to the hotel. There is a ton of construction right now on the main road going through Bay Street in Nassau which you have to take to get to Paradise Island. Our driver decided to detour and take back roads. OMG! Not kidding or exaggerating...he hit 2 vehicles and I am pretty certain about 2-3 dogs! The are we drove through was not nice at all and scary to say the least. When speaking to locals ... they were SHOCKED we went through that area and that Atlantis would most likely not be happy at all that we were taken through that area. SO...if Dan Knowles transport is who you are hooked up with...take a TAXI instead!
Had a wonderful experience at the Dolphin Cay $130 per person to interact with the Dolphins and $15 for spectators. The smallest picture package option to purchase was $70 for 4 pictures. I had my camera, took amazing pictures from the beach of my husband and son with the dolphin. Good savings there!
The property is NOT as big as you would think...staying at the "other end" is a very quick walk and all can be indoors. Save the money on the room to get yourself some food or souvenirs.
OH...and if you take a taxi from the airport or decide to walk over to Nassau...buy your beverages there and bring them back to your room. I was able to buy a can of soda for 85 cents...78% savings!

Date of Stay: 10/22/2011
Children in Party: 1


Tweens (10-12)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


Water Wonderland by Especllady
The Royal Towers at Atlantis is an unforgettable experience for fun in the sun. The staff is wonderful, the hotel incredible beautiful. The only things we would like to see improved is the poolside restaurant food. It was sub par and ... more the sea food selections were not to be found. Also, the multitude of daily "gratuity taxes" on our hotel bill was an insult considering every purchase at the hotel already had a 15%+ gratuity tax added into the total charge. The daily extra charges were billed to your account whether you utilized the service (pool,water park, etc) or not. We would much rather pay more for the rooms and have these charges hidden in the addition charge than to read through 2 or more pages of "gratuity taxes".

Date of Stay: 10/28/2011
Children in Party: 1


Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


What a time! by krazikate75
This is our second trip to Atlantis. The first time we went as a family 2 years ago we stayed at the Royal Towers. This year we took my daughter's friend along, got an adjoining room for them, and stayed at the Coral Towers. Everyone ... more was happy since the game room was closer for my son.

My daughter and her friend just turned 18 and they were able to gamble (very little) and have a couple Bahama Mammas. Actually, they spent most of the time at the pool, water sports, activities and game room.

The meal plan is expensive ($95/day/person) but we received a deal where we received breakfast for free every day. The whole experience was great though and my children want to go back next year. If you can afford the trip, definitely a pleaser for everyone.

Date of Stay: 07/13/2011
Children in Party: 3


Tweens (10-12)
Tweens (13+)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


Atlantis Junkie by kiffytunes
This was our 4th trip to Atlantis. On our first trip we stayed at the Beach Tower, but then our friends turned us on to the Reef. With three kids and two adults, this is a great way to travel! The one bedroom suite has a full gourmet ... more kitchen, two full bathrooms, a washer/dryer, a living room and a bedroom. This space easily sleeps five; lets the kids go to bed early; and provides space for us to hang out after the kids are long asleep. The accommodations are always clean and well stocked with linens & towels.

There are three things you need to know about Atlantis: 1) everyone who works there is on island time (nothing happens quickly); 2) food is not cheap and nothing is included; and 3) the early bird gets the best chairs at the pool or beach. Make friends with one of the pool boys and you'll be guaranteed a seat where you want it. Once you have figured all of this out, you are guaranteed to have a great vacation.

The pools are immaculate, the lifeguards are friendly and alert, and the beach at the Cove is pristine and calm. If you like an active vacation, there is a lot to do--pools, water slides, a mile long lazy river, snorkeling, and golf to name a few. The resort is HUGE, so if you like walking, this is the place for you. Of course, there are shuttle buses to take you from one end of the resort to the other.

When booking your reservation, watch for deals! The rates change often--and, the good news is that you are not locked into your reservation until 30 days before you travel. The best deal seems to be stay 3 nights, get the 4th night free. There are also deals on meal plans....if the kids eat free, then the meal plan is a DEAL. If not, then skip the meal plan. Dining reservations can be made 60 days in advance. DO make reservations, you'll never get a table at some of the more popular restaurants. You can always cancel your reservation before 4 PM on the day of, if your plans change.

This is a great family resort for families with kids of all ages!



Date of Stay: 04/14/2011
Children in Party: 1


Tots (0-2)
Kids (7-9)


BEWARE atlantis is ritz pricing with Holiday inn service by direne
this trip cost over $20k for a suite, activities, transportation and meal plan. the trip was a disaster because of ppor service. we paid $75 each way for transportation, and although cabs were plentiful at the airport we waited 45 min ... more for other families to arrive. then 1/2 way to the hotel we turned around to pick up more people! a cab was only $40 and private. the transport back to the airport never showed up and we never got a refund that was promised.

we had a suite and asked for 2 roll away beds that were not delivered until the next day even though we called 4x and went down to the front desk. the pull out was stained, dirty and smelled of pee. the kids slept on the floor the first night. we insisted that the manager came to our room and we asked him to sit on the pull out. he refused seeing and smelling the stain, but it was never cleaned.

the housekeeping came at 9pm most nights and we turned them away becuse the kids were ready for bed. the restaurants were worse/ we ate at the bahaman club, with reservations at 7:30pm we did not get seated until 9:30 and dinner came at 11:00 after the kids were asleep at the table. this was a $300 meal on the meal plan but they only credited us $200. i showed the manager the check but they still would not credit the entire meal. the same thing happened the next night but we walked out after 2 hrs waiting for our reservation and ate pizza.

check in was a 30 min wait, and because they are not affiliated with the activities (dolphin cay) you do not get a full itinerary when you check in. we had a 9:00 activity that because the desk did not open till 10am we missed it. no refund.

the staff is friendly but confused and not very helpful. the manager was worse. just kept saying we are busy, i am sorry, nothing we can do.

DONT go look at the condos. it takes hours and you will get the hard sell. they promised drinks but we sat in the sun for 3 hours with no water. we went to the gift shop and bought the boys water as they were over heated. we pointied this out to our tour guide but just more i am sorrys.

before you spend a fortune on this vacation, so beware before booking.

Date of Stay: 03/20/2011
Children in Party: 2


Tweens (13+)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


My First Family Vacation To The Atlantis by sheilacwilliams
Our family visit to the Atlantis was such a wonderful experience! The hotel staff was friendly and always willing to direct us when we got lost! Atlantis is definitely a five star resort with five star service! We just loved the lazy ... more river and water recreation area, it was awesome'. I'll never forget it was my birthday and one of the female staff at the pool restaurant Ms Collie sang happy birthday to me for my birthday! We still stay in touch via facebook! Last but not least the hotel is magnificent! I felt like a celebrity! I loved the food the most! I recommend that everyone put the Atlantis on their bucket list!


Date of Stay: 05/23/2010
Children in Party: 1


Kids (7-9)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


Not Exactly What I Expected in Atlantis!! by rr_simon@bellsouth.net
While this was a wonderfully designed big playground for my children ages 6, 9, and 11, it was not that much of a vacation for my husband and I. We were on the Atlantis meal plan which is a must or else our dinners would have been $200.00 ... more and up each night unless we opted for pizza or Johnny Rockets every evening. In addition, this is a very big resort. There was no need for exercise this week. My walking to our destination each day made up for this which was OK because I would have incurred an additional expense for the fitness room. I really didn't know Caribbean vacations could be this expensive! We spent around $10,000 for the week and were not even in the main tower which is the Royal Towers. We were in Coral Towers and were told we had an ocean view, however they placed us on the 4th floor right above an enormous tin roof. It wasn't that pretty! I won't be going back and wished I had taken that $10,000 and spent it on two small more intimate all-inclusives in Mexico. At least then maybe my husband and I could have taken advantage of kids camps and been able to enjoy the spa, golf, etc. and actually have had a vacation too! Atlantis is just too big and way too expensive.

It's fun for the kids, but not a good value and not relaxing for adults unless your mega rich to afford the kids camp and then your own stuff as well. It was Spring Break. My relaxation came from sleeping on my lounge chair along with most other adults. Oh by the way, wake up at 7:00 am and go get your chairs before breakfast because if you don't the best ones will be taken. Also, plan to make sandwiches in the room or take lots of snacks because lunch will cost your family at least $50.00 a day. My children had just as much fun in the DR last year at an all-inclusive!

Date of Stay: 03/25/2011
Children in Party: 1


Kids (3-6)
Kids (7-9)
Tweens (10-12)


Atlantis.... by libbymcf@gmail.
The Atlantis Resort in the Bahamas is family friendly offering a new adventure everyday! It appeals to every age group which makes it very attractive. Lots of swimming areas, some being more adventurous than others. We especially liked the ... more lazy river which was quite relaxing. Indoor aquariums and ponds outside with beautiful fish was an attraction worth viewing daily. We enjoyed walking thru a jungle-like are where you crossed a swinging bridge. The putt putt golf was fun in the evenings when temperatures cooled down.

Lots of awesome restaurants on the property but there are also restaurant options nearby within walking distance. We never had a problem getting into a restaurant and enjoyed all the food. It was fun to check out the marina in the evening which was conveniently located near the ice cream shop. Atlantis offers camps for the younger children however, we didn't need them on this trip. We enjoyed the snorkeling and kayaking. We took a very fun dinner boat cruise which had a family friendly show on board and great food! There are lots of snorkeling and diving cruises outside the property. The casino was lots of fun at night.

Overall, Atlantis is one of the most family friendly resorts we have experienced. You won't be disappointed!

Date of Stay: 04/29/2008
Children in Party: 1


Tweens (13+)


The Atlantis at Last by bigwendi
Our family had been dreaming of a vacation such as the Atlantis for a long time....At Last we got there. This was our first time out of the USA. Being at the Atlantis is like being in another world. Everything that you could ever dream of ... more was right there. ALthough we did leave for a boat excursion on Paradise Powerboats, which in itself was absolutely phenomenal, you really didn't have to leave at all in order to have vacation of a lifetime.

Our kids, one in college and one still in high school went with us and we knew that this probably would be one of the last times that we would vacation together "JUST US" before we had boyfriends, girlfriends, or husbands or wives in the picture. So, we had the best time together....we had no limits on spending and did everything that we wanted to do.....casino, restaurants, powerboat adventure, comedy clubs, shopping, water rides, people watching, sunning, drinking, yacht admiring, and my husband and son were walking around in a trance because the Miss Universe Contestants were all there getting ready for contest to be held at Atlantis the next week. Over all it was an experience of a life time and the people at the Atlantis were so nice and helpful everywhere we went. I highly suggest the Atlantis and the Bahamas for the ultimate vacation for people of all ages!

Date of Stay: 08/03/2009
Children in Party: 1


Tweens (13+)


Paradise Found - Our Atlantis Surprise Vacation by pack-N-fly-N-play
This is not your usual well planned vacation trip. We had an unexpected situation that led to a drastic change in our vacation itinerary. Our initial high marks go to the reservation and travel service we spoke to on the phone who answered ... more all our questions regarding the Atlantis Resort and really helped us remake our vacation. When we arrived, our package booked just three days earlier included transportation to and from the hotel. Also included in the deal was the forth night free and discounts to the dolphin encounter and at various high end restaurants... which we really enjoyed!

The resort is a manufactured tropical paradise and I cannot wait to return. I'll warn you I also love Disney. Okay, I know this is not a true representation of the Bahama islands. We met some wonderful people at the airport and I know that there is much more to see and do for a true flavor. That said, what this was is a perfect vacation for a family. There was a tranquil lagoon where small kids could be comfortable learning to wear snorkel gear and swim with fish. No challenging waves or deep seas to frighten them on their snorkel adventure - believe me, having tried both with the kids, this time was MUCH better.

There were slides to conquer and dolphins to meet and there were the wonderful aquariums. So much to do and see. There was also alot we did not make time for - The kids programs looked great but we passed. Gambling is available, but we could do without. The only thing that we did not enjoy were the brief but troublesome traffic jams on the river innertube ride - it reminded me of traffic on the east coast.

I'll warn readers that there is a height restriction of 48" on many of the larger waters slides. Our youngest is close depending on if his hair is fluffed and he stands on tip toes. While he's a good swimmer, he could not participate in all the slides and this was a disappointment to him. However, after the initial moment of let down, he was thrilled with the river rapids and the slides he could ride and in the end, he's glad to use this as an excuse to get another trip down to Atlantis.

We stayed in a room with two queen beds that overlooked the resort on the 11th floor. It was a very comfortable room and quite large. The view was beautiful, the furniture was well appointed, and the bathroom was very nice with plenty of room to move two kids through the process of removing sand and grime at the end of the day. The only minor complaint that could be made was that the bathroom could use a bit more clorox. The island is humid and there was a bit of mildew. I wasn't bothered - but then again, my mom traveled with clorox so I noted this one.

Finally, I'll end with the staff at the resort. My appreciation to all. From the moment we arrived we were treated so warmly and everyone was so genuinely nice and caring that this is probably the greatest reason I will return. I have had the chance to travel to other resorts with my family and this one wins hands down on hospitality.

Date of Stay: 08/18/2010
Children in Party: 1


Kids (3-6)
Kids (7-9)


Sad to leave by bethbrennerrose
This was our first real family vacation. 90% of it exceeded our expectations - the kids were happily occupied all the time with the water activities and they were superb! The food (we did the casual meal plan & that ended up being ... more terrific idea for us) was delicious and there was plenty of healthy options, along with the less-healthy options. The resort grounds were beautiful!

The room and the bathroom in the Royal Towers were small for the price. The staff knowledge & helpfulness was hit-or-miss. The check-in process was disastrous - having to check into 3 different rooms before settling in one that wasn't occupied, not cleaned or smelling from smoke. I didn't anticipate there being a problem, but these were definite issues after having flown there & gone through customs & then having to take a 45-minute shuttle from the airport.

The restaurants on the casual meal plan were all terrific & kid-friendly. Usually good service, but sometimes a bit slow for families with young kids.

It was kid-friendly because there were so many activities offered for kids of all ages - Kids Adventure, movies, water slides & splashing pools & lazy river, etc.

We went during kids' spring break, so it was busy, but not unbearable. We had no problems getting into restaurants or finding lounge chairs during the day. I would imagine that going at off-times would be even more relaxing/enjoyable.

Date of Stay: 03/14/2009
Children in Party: 1


Tots (0-2)
Kids (7-9)


Atlantis resort by bisou
My family and I recently went to the Atlantis resort in the Bahamas. It was great. We stay at the Cove Atlantis, it has its own private pool for this particular hotel for family and an Adult pool. It is a short walk to the waterpark. The ... more waterpark is absolutely wonderfull for kids and adults too. We stayed there for 4 days and that was just the right amount of time.

All the restaurants there are very expensive but the food is excellent everywhere you go. It is definetly a great place to bring your kids, my son had a blast and would love to go back. If you want to do the sea lion interaction or the dolphins you reallly need to RSVP several days in advance as they get booked up very quickly. I really think we stayed at the nicest hotel they have there "the Cove" the room was really nice, it was actually a suite, big enought for a couple and 2 kids.

Date of Stay: 03/10/2010
Children in Party: 1


Kids (7-9)


Blue Lagoon Island - a family paradise by karafamily
Nassau is a great place for families. There was something for everyone in the family - all ages - both genders!

We went to the Atlantis Resort for our trip. Atlantis has everything you can think of. There are water ... more slides, pools, restaurants, casinos, and an aquarium. The beaches are beautiful and they make sure you are comfortable on the beach by providing you with beach chairs and towels at the beach - and they will set it up for you too! (So no lugging all that to the beach and back) There are so many activities to choose from it will make your head spin. You can choose from water sports at the beach, water slides, dolphin encounters, and evening adult activities. So, with so many choices of activities and the convenience of having it all on the resort property - it is a great place for families to vacation.

We went on May when it wasn't high season but the water was warm and the weather was absolutely beautiful!

Date of Stay: 05/11/2009
Children in Party: 1


Kids (7-9)
Tweens (10-12)


ATLANTIS IS PARADISE ON EARTH! by tglann@yahoo.com
We have traveled all over the USA, including Hawaii 6 times, and the Caribbean. Out of all our vacations, going to Atlantis was the most spectacular! It is amazing from the time you enter into the resort..until the time you leave. You ... more don't want to leave. We were able to get a great deal where you buy 3 nights and get the 4th free. We paid for the cheapest room in the place. We didn't care where it was located..we just wanted to get there. Upon arrival, I asked them if we could get the best view possible in our price range. They upgraded us to a harbor view tower room for FREE! The rooms are huge and beautiful. We had wall to ceiling windows with a balcony. We could see the cruise ships coming into dock at Nassau and could see Nassau from our window.

As far as the resort itself, we have NEVER been in any finer resort. This place is the most spectacular resort. They have a FREE underground aquarium called "The dig". You walk through this and see all sorts of manta rays, tropical fish, eels, etc. You can watch them feed the animals during the day and hear all about their habits. Then, there is the water-park with every sort of imaginable water ride along with lazy rivers with rapids. Then, there are the shark pools, string ray pools, and all types of outdoor water exhibits.

Then, there is the beautiful emerald waters of the beach, the lagoon with water toy rentals, the fabulous restaurants, the marina where yachts of the rich and famous dock...and so much more.

It took us 4 entire days to see everything at Atlantis...and we didn't even ride all the rides or sit at the beach. Kids WILL NOT get bored here. In fact, they won't want to go home.

This is a five star resort for sure!

Date of Stay: 10/04/2009
Children in Party: 2


Tweens (13+)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


Amazing Atlantis underwater Display by sumerose
What an amazing sight to see Atlantis underwater display with the aquatic life. There were so many different fish and man o' war and small sharks. You see the display through so many floor to ceiling windows that it feels like you are ... more really in there. In the evenings you can go through the display for free. The kids would love to see the fish and the lost city of Atlantis.

Date of Stay: 02/05/2010
Children in Party: 2


Tots (0-2)
Kids (3-6)
Kids (7-9)
Tweens (10-12)
Tweens (13+)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


OMG! The Atlantis is paradise! by jasminekamron
This hotel is excellent for families. There is so much to do! There are many children programs to keep the kids busy all day long. There is an excellent water park, fun for kids and adults. The food is excellent, a little pricey though.The ... more Atlantis is worth every penny. You cannot go wrong.

Date of Stay: 06/10/2009
Children in Party: 2


Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


Phenomenally wet and fun, but eat cheap by divingdave
Atlantis is not just for families but it is a great place to take the family. When we were there we had several hours of rain and that was no problem with all the huge aquariums and 'underground' digs to explore. The aquariums are even ... more great at night. You have probably read a lot about Atlantis with all the water slides and sports that are available. There is an arcade for older kids. There are great kids clubs where the kids can do activities with other kids their age. The movie theater is great showing free just released movies with snacks (popcorn) or you can pay to see them in your room. The spa runs specials that are really worth the money. I even got a facial, had to try it once in my life and the price made it 'try-able.' I got my wife a message and facial for $100. Atlantis is almost affordable.

The biggest ticket item is food. We found the meal deals were too expensive for no more than our kids would actually eat and you would not believe the lines to get in the restaurants accepting the meal tickets. You also have to eat during certain hours with the tickets. After we were there we found a 'Diner' that is just outside the casino before the shopping area that has a great menu with super large portions for a reasonable price. Beware, Star Bucks is just beyond and you will wish your cup of Joe was only $4. At the 'Diner' we were able to go for either lunch or dinner and had enough left over for at least another meal. Each plate was in the $8-$14 range. We got 2 different plates each time and the kids ate off our plates.

We also took the Ferry to town a couple of times for a change of scenery and to do some shopping. Note: the Rum Cake at Atlantis is better than any we found in town. There are markets close to where the ferry lets you off. We got lots of milk, snacks and quick cook oatmeal for the room. We brought a fold-able 'ice chest' that we kept the milk and perishables in. You can have the mini-bar emptied for about $35 and use the fridge or rent a fridge for $20. We have done both but we found these fold-able 'ice chests' that worked well enough and the savings bought another meal. The coffee pot in the room made great oatmeal since we only needed hot water. So, breakfast was covered in the room and lunch and dinner was covered with one stop to the 'Diner'. In a week we spent less on food for the whole family than a meal ticket would have cost for one person. Of course, the restaurants there are 5 star and really worth a visit. But, our kids are too young right now to appreciate the ambiance.

Date of Stay: 12/07/2009
Children in Party: 2


Tots (0-2)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


Fun, Relaxing Family Time...It's Better in the Bahamas!! by daynab
We travelled in Feb 09,and stayed 5 nights stay at the Reef. We booked the Sun-scape package with the Gourmet Meal plan. We got 2 free Dolphin interactions. We had a studio room with 2 double beds. The room was tastefully decorated, but ... more lacked storage space enough for 4 people. There is only a large closet with 2 small drawers and one bedside table with 2 larger drawers. The kitchenette was ample. We used Fergie's Taxi, and our nice driver, Sam took us to a supermarket and liquor store. We stocked our fridge with beer soda and water. (Be careful at the liquor stores. They tried to overcharge my husband and then tried to give him the wrong change.

The pools at the Reef were wonderful. They were nicely heated and refreshing. The rest of Atlantis pools were gorgeous as well. It was hit or miss with regards to temperature. Some were heated, some were not. As we had some winds the heated pools were more to our liking. The slides and rapids were so much fun. We went on again and again. On the slides you really need to keep your butt up so as not to get hurt. My son flipped over a few times in the wave part of the rapids, but my daughter and I were in a double tube and never flipped.

Dolphin Cay is a nice experience. We had a 22 month old Dolphin named Missy. She is a beautiful creature and it is a nice day. I had to pay for myself. My husband paid for a beach pass ($15). I had 2 free swims for the kids. If I had to pay full price ($140) for all of us, I would not have thought it was worth it. Blue lagoon Island has a much cheaper excursion.The pictures were way too expensive, as they start at $60 to $400 for packages. You cannot just buy one picture.

The meal plan was worth it for us. Breakfasts ran about $100 each morning for buffet. Dinner buffets were about $190. When we went to Bahamian Club it was $340 and Mesa Grill was $290. The service in both restaurants were spectacular. The food was better in the Bahamian Club. The only disappointing part was the wait staff padded both bills. In the Bahamian Club we gave a few extra dollars to the automatic gratuity of 15% to make it an even $50. When we got back to the room the gratuity was $67. Mesa Grill did the same thing. We complained to the front desk and they fixed the problem. So just be careful and check your folio each day. You will find many things overpriced, as we expected, but you feel like you are nickel and dimed to death. We also ate at Bimini Road...OK food...long wait and very loud. Could not get into Carmines, as they don't accept reservations for parties under 6 people. The wait list was closed by 6pm. Buffets for breakfast and dinner had nice selections.

The staff at all over Atlantis were friendly and courteous. I did not encounter one rude person. Doors were opened for us and smiles were plentiful. Most staff members were singing and dancing while doing their jobs.

We saw a movie at the theatre, my son built a race car at the Speedway. ($75 for the car with 10 min. of race time) My daughter did the build a bear for $40 with an outfit. The arcade starts at $20 on a card, some games are $2 or $3 each.

We had a wonderful family trip and might return to Atlantis some time in the future. I would definitely stay at the Reef again, or the Cove. The other towers, including the Royal, but especially the Beach and Coral Towers are starting to show their age. The buildings and some of the grounds are in need of updating and repair. But the property is very clean. Some areas around the Beach Tower were closed.


Date of Stay: 09/15/2009
Children in Party: 1


Kids (7-9)
Tweens (10-12)



See what Family Vacation Critic has to say about the Atlantis Resort
Read more about Atlantis Resort Rooms

  •  
    FREE Family Travel Newsletter
  • Family Travel Tips   (7 New)

    Family Planning and Tips

    • Carnival Miracle Travel Tips
      OverviewCabinsDiningActivitiesTravel Tips All About the Extras Sail & Sign Card Carnival ships feature Sail & Sign cards, which make life so much easier. All you do is link a debit card or credit card to your Sail & Sign Card at Guest Relations or a kiosk on the ship. You'll then use your Sai...
    • Carnival Miracle
      OverviewCabinsDiningActivitiesTravel Tips One of four Spirit class ships, Carnival Miracle made its magical debut in 2004. While it's certainly not Carnival's grandest ship, it's definitely something of a "miracle" for families, who find an ample amount of amenities and activities on board. Amid ...
    • 10 Best Orlando Resorts for Families
      So many hotels and resorts to choose from! Which ones really are the best for families in terms of theme-park access, amenities, and accommodations? Here are our favorites in the Orlando area! 1. Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creak Maybe it is the Hilton's water park with two zero-entry pools, a 3-acre ...
    • 10 Best Disney World Resorts for Families
      When it comes to Disney, they certainly know how to cater to families, and families who want to visit Disney's Orlando theme parks will find a large selection of resorts and hotels to accommodate families of all sizes. But which ones are the best? Take a look at these 10 favorites of our editors and...
    • Skip This: Do That!
      Deciding where to go for your next family vacation? Often it's the most popular destinations -- from mega theme parks to world-famous beach towns -- that come to mind first. It's tempting to pick a familiar place and just go with what you know, but do this and you could be missing out on some fantas...
    • Disney Wonder Alaskan Cruise
      Join us onboard Disney Wonder's first exploration into Alaskan waters and ports as Family Vacation Critic Editor Lissa Poirot and her two tots take you on a tour. Be the first to see a sample of Disney's Alaskan Port Adventures, as well as glimpse the Disney Wonder's onboard fun, in our first-ever d...
    • Family Volunteer Vacations
      Away from the hectic pace of our everyday lives, any vacation is a chance for families to reconnect. There's no soccer game, no piano recital, no working late, so finally you have that precious day together. Yet, if you really want a meaningful break from your usual schedule, one that might change t...
  • Twitter
  • Facebook