Beaches Negril Reviews

Norman Manley Blvd, Negril,
What do you think about Beaches Negril?
Please Review This Hotel:
select a rating

86%
families recommend
 
 
  2176 family reviews

Read more about Beaches Negril
SPECTACULAR by bdew
This resort is the ULTIMATE in family fun. There is something for every single person in your family, in any age group. Staff caters to children especially, but adults are made to feel pretty special too. There are tons of activities ... more for kids/families, and also enough to keep the grown ups entertained! Relaxing, no-fuss, gorgeous surroundings. And nothing is ever crowded! I don't know how they manage it, because the resort is always full, but there is never a wait for anything. Service staff cares for your family like they are their own. Our room stylist, Patricia, was outstanding, and took the best care of us. And the term "all inclusive" is absolutely accurate. All food, beverages and activities are included! We can't wait to go back!

Date of Stay: 05/08/2014
Children in Party: 1


Tots (0-2)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


You have to be there to believe it, not! by Terzyat
Well, where I should start. We were very excited to take this vacation but the excitement finished on the very first day as we walked into our room. First,I was expecting a beach front room but I couldn't even see the beach from my room. ... more After complaining and calling for several times I was changed into different rooms until I found out that the entire resort didn't have a beach front room,but I was charged for it.

Second, the entire service was horrible. I really don't know what was wrong,you ask for something it takes them forever to bring it or they would forget to bring it. Several days prior we made reservations for dinner, prepared to go, as we walked in the restaurant they didn't even had our name with them. It was very embarrassing and time consuming. Third, it calls family resort but in front of me at the beach they were selling drugs to the visitors and unfortunately they didn't care that children were around. We could smell marijuana as we were at the beach. For the entire trip I had to call for the service, complain, follow up, it was very stressful. I paid $7.000 for this resort to come back stressed. Very sad. Should I start about bugs. They eat you up, even the bug spray didn't help. I won't recommend this resort.


Date of Stay: 01/01/1900
Children in Party: 1


Tweens (10-12)
Tweens (13+)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


Enter dates for best prices



The Jamaican "vibe" will bring you back... by ChaylaT
My family stayed at Beaches Negril from June 20-28, 2013. It was our first time to Jamaica and the 3rd time at a Beaches resort. (*Please jump to end of review if you would like to read my comparison of Beaches Negril to Beaches Turks ... more & Caicos). We are a family of 5: me, 44 years, my husband, 40 years, my son, 12 years and two daughters, 11 & 8 years old. We had been to Beaches Turks & Caicos in June 2011 & 2012 and love the Beaches brand so we decided to try something new this year and chose Negril. We were a bit nervous about the property being small but it did NOT disappoint. In fact, it blew us away!!!

Coming from Los Angeles is a long trek to Jamaica so we split the travel time up. We stayed overnight in Miami at the Airport Marriott and then took an early flight into Montego Bay. We were greeted at the large and air conditioned Sandals Lounge at the airport where we refreshed, got drinks, and then were quickly taken to our mini-bus. The drive to the resort is 90 minutes. Jamaica is beautiful. Lush and green with both azure blue ocean and dense mountainous regions. The drive was very nice and will give you a tour of how the people live. Yes, you will see some poverty in some of the small villages on the drive, but it wasn't abject poverty. Many of the villages seemed similar to small villages we drove through in Europe; very small homes with local market trading. No signs of violence or graffiti or health issues. Basically what you would see in any rising nation, and I think it is good for children to see many aspects of life.

ROOM/ARRIVAL
The minute we exited the van, there were many employees shaking our hands and yelling out, "Welcome home!" We were escorted to the Concierge Lounge, given the drink of the day (punch for the kids), and some cookies. Big Bird came to greet us as did the General Manager of the resort, Adrian Whitehead, and the Director of Food & Beverage, Craig Leslie. It was an amazing welcome! Our rooms were immediately ready. We got Deluxe Honeymoon Concierge rooms in the Savannah Building, rooms 621 and adjoining room 622. I had originally wanted one room with a double bed for the kids but they had a pull-out couch they claimed was comfortable and the bed was king-size. Beaches offered us an extra cot but we declined. We had balconies facing the ocean and we could see a bit of the water park. We were centrally located. The rooms were beautiful and clean. It was nice to have two full baths and two balconys. I would ask for this same set of rooms again. It was on the 3rd floor with stairs only. The only thing I wish was better in the rooms is that they do not have a separate door between the bedroom and the sink area. I like to rise early and I would wake my husband when I turned on the vanity light every morning. It would have been nice to close a door there and spare him the glare of the lights. There was a safe and robes and a hair dryer (bring your own as the dryer is not very powerful). The rooms also had beer/wine, soda, fruit juices, water in a mini fridge, a microwave, and a coffee maker. We had an XBOX in our room but it was never used. Our room was cleaned daily and had a nightly turndown. We got towel animals and The Sunny Times newsletter every evening.

RESTAURANTS/BARS
I was worried about having a smaller selection of restaurants at Negril but I was never hungry or wanting for anything else. Kimonos was very entertaining with loud fun singers, the Venetian had amazing Italian food, the Mill was always great with a wonderful varied selection (and great omelets made by Andre), Dino's Pizzeria has the BEST pizzas in the Caribbean (Marcello is a very personable manager), Stewfish had my personal favorite breakfasts and some great seafood selections at dinner, Arizona's had great steaks, BBQ Park had amazing pork sandwiches, fries, and jerk chicken, and Café de Paris had the best coffee, cupcakes, chocolate croissants, and ice cream at the resort! Vennesia and Stacy were a delight to see every day. At every restaurant we were greeted warmly and always asked how our vacation was going and if they could help get us anything. There was also a fantastic Beach Party on Thursdays that had tantalizing Caribbean fare. Monday's Jamaican Day had a Jamaican menu on the beach, and the chocolate buffet was classy and elegant. We attended the Sandals Select Luncheon held on the beach and my favorites were served: Jerk chicken, beef stew, rice & peas, and callalou.

Drinks were plentiful and you could ask any waiter to get one for you and they would. The Beach Bar was our favorite hang-out as we always had beach chairs nearby. June, Ned, and O'Neil were the best drink makers. They were always happy to help with smiles. I loved the frozen Bob's the best this trip. There was a menu at each bar for the kid's drinks. The bartenders were equally nice to the kids and would often give them their drinks from their heads. Jamaican's love to balance drinks, umbrellas, wine bottles, and chairs on their heads! I think I drank more on this trip than ate truthfully! One negative we encountered was the bar at the main pool. The bartenders were not very welcoming and friendly there, which was an issue that really stood out to us since it was relative to our incredibly friendly and hospitable experiences everywhere else at the resort. After countless times of being ignored we would leave and get a drink at the Piazza pool bar or the beach bar. It felt like there was a party at that bar and we weren't invited-just a different vibe there.

POOLS/WATER PARK
There are basically two large pools in Negril which is in addition to a small pool used exclusively for toddlers/babies near the Kids Camp area. The main pool is next to the Mill and the Piazza pool is near the water park. We really liked the Piazza pool the best though our rooms were near both. There was always entertainment and activities/contests at the Piazza pool. It also had a basketball net in the pool. Both pools had swim-up bars.

The water park is small but the slides are great! There is a really fast closed tube slide and a more leisurely open slide. The lazy river has a fast current and is so fun to swim in. There is an area with toddler slides and a splash park. There is a large very warm Jacuzzi near the splash park that was nice on rainy afternoons. The park was always very clean and many lifeguards around. Some even got to know my kid's names. We felt very comfortable letting our kids roam around at the water park while we enjoyed activities at the beach which was literally about 50 yards away.

Pool towels could be a problem if you didn't plan ahead for them. Just be sure to grab a bunch in the morning and late afternoon. Otherwise they are extremely hard to find. There are loungers in each of the pools.

BEACH/BEACH CABANAS
This resort is a beach resort, not a pool resort. LOVED that! The beach is right next to the water park so you can literally lie on your beach chairs and hear your kids laughing in the lazy river at the same time. The beach is clean and the sand is raked daily. There are crabs, plenty of fish, starfish, and sting rays right in the swimming zone. There are plenty of shaded areas and many beach chairs and picnic tables. The beach is wide with great sand to build castles and such. There are a variety of small sand toys around the resort but if you have the room in your luggage, it would be a good idea to get some small sand toys to bring. The beach is public and there are guards at each end and often patrolling. We had to sign in and out when we wanted to walk down the beach. I liked that as I like having security around. The vendors are not bad at all. They weren't annoying either. In fact, some were really nice and interesting...the Conch shell man and the "Ring, Ring, Ring.." man were particularly memorable and fun.

We rented a beach cabana for a few days. The price is $125 a day. Our Cabana boy, Damion, was sweet and brought us lunch, dessert, fruit, and lemongrass towels. It was nice to have a place to lie and some shade. We did not get the cabana for a third day as we eventually decided there were plenty of shaded areas and we were always busy running to and from activities to really enjoy the cabana. It IS a nice treat for a day or two, though.

WATERSPORTS
There are many water sports at this resort. The water sports alone could keep people entertained for days. We tried water skiing, knee boarding, hobie cats, paddle boarding, the awesome WildCat rides every afternoon (the banana boat had expired), the trikes, and just swimming in the warm glassy water. There is a glass bottom boat but we did not try it. The snorkeling is the best I have experienced. Carl, Howard, and Sharren would get in the water and guide you to caves and island reefs that were teeming with life. They would go and grab something (starfish, spider crabs, urchins) and show you to touch. The snorkeling crew worked particularly hard to be sure that we always went to a new spot and that everyone had an amazing experience. We saw schools of squid, sea snakes, an eagle ray, lobsters, tan sting rays, trumpet fish, puffer fish, moon jellyfish, and many other colorful fish. My son got stung by jellyfish a few times and the beach bartender and the snorkel captain had stuff to help with the sting. My husband and son are certified divers and, while they enjoyed the diving, even they said that the snorkeling was just spectacular. On their dives they saw a large nurse shark, lobsters, a barracuda, and the usual fish. The dive team is very laid-back in Negril and some of the rules are bent in favor of guest expectations. My husband said that there were some guests that clearly didn't know what they were doing and were in dire need of a refresher course. So if you are planning on diving, don't hesitate to ask plenty of questions or even ask for a refresher if it's been over a year for you; safety first!

GROUNDS/WEATHER
The foliage in Jamaica is beautiful and lush. The grounds here are kept so clean and beautiful. There are butterflies everywhere. We even saw the Jamaican national bird, the Swallowtail Hummingbird. There are some stray cats on the grounds and often some stray dogs roaming the beach. Neither are threatening. One of the sweet dogs even slept at our feet one morning while we ate breakfast at Stewfish. The resort has a huge chess set, croquet, mini putt putt, tennis courts, and many places to sit and relax.

It did rain a bit every afternoon like clock work for about 30 minutes to an hour but we actually enjoyed the showers and lightening/thunder. It gave us respite from the heat and we would often wait it out having a drink at the beach bar. It was a constant 85 degrees. It was always comfortable warm and humid. My skin loved the humidity, my hair not so much.

NIGHTLIFE
This resort is great regarding entertainment. There is a weekly beach party, a weekly Jamaican Day party, a chocolate buffet, trivia contests, karaoke, steel drum bands, a circus show, a magician, a safari animal keeper, many singers and dancers, a pianist, and other musicians. You could count on there being a show at the "Big Top" (i.e., their stage) every night featuring local artists. Additionally, during the day there was always someone playing music or someone singing somewhere. The dancing of the playmakers was fantastic! Jamaicans sure know how to dance! They also do great gymnastic stunts to entertain. They are constantly trying to get people involved. This resort was always in a party mood. The kids had an X-BOX Lounge, Trench Town (a tween/teen hangout with movies and games) and Club Liquid (the disco). Every night we would get The Sunny Times, a newspaper of the resort with the following day's activities. There is a Sesame Street parade before the Beach party that is a lot of fun. There is also a Sesame Street show every evening before the main shows and characters are often seen running around and taking pictures.

The SnapShots photographers were everywhere and loved taking pictures of our kids. The pictures were good and we bought a few. We made an appointment for a sunset photo shoot with Sharren and he was a fun guy. The weather was not the best at that time as there were clouds which prevented us getting that perfect Jamaican sunset family photo. I found that all the employees were very helpful in taking pictures of you and your family. I didn't even have to ask half the time. They were very gracious.

TIPS TO TELL

- Yes, there are many mosquitos. We did get bitten so do bring a bunch of bug spray and don't be afraid to use it liberally.

- Bring sand toys and/or sand shovels if you have room in your luggage.

- Bring tennis shoes for running on the beach or for their up-to-date gym. After all the drinks I had, I regret not bringing my gym shoes with me.

- Bring watches as there aren't clocks around. Though we were on vacation and trying to avoid schedules, we found ourselves meeting or trying to make activities at various times. Having some inexpensive waterproof watches would have been very helpful.

- Bring a power strip as the rooms have very few outlets.

- The Savannah Block is the best as it is centrally located. You do not have to walk far to anything.

- Bring small dollar denominations to tip the porters and bus driver as they are not affiliated with Beaches.

- Walkie-talkies are great to keep in touch with the kids.

- Pack lightly. 4 swimsuits with a few rash guards and 5-6 outfits. (Bring some stretchy clothes as you may eat and drink a lot!)

- Hair dryer. They do provide one but it is not very powerful.

- *PLEASE do not be an "ugly" tourist. We saw a family grab two huge live starfish from the water and place them in a towel to keep. They were nicely asked by my husband and another guest to put them back in the water as they would die but they didn't care. Jamaica relies on its beautiful nature for tourism and it is a shame that people are selfish enough to take something from nature and destroy it that way. We told some employees but they could not do anything as it would ruin the vacation for the offenders. This needs to be addressed by all the Beaches employees. If someone each week takes shells and live animals from the sea/resort, there won't be much left for the future generations to enjoy.

NEGRIL VS. TURKS & CAICOS
There are so many differences which make going to both such a pleasure. We have been to T&C twice and Negril this once, and hands-down there are obvious differences. The people and country of Jamaica are so neat that I would like to visit again and again and even partake in some off-resort excursions to see more culture. Negril is an intimate resort (which is a good thing) and you do not have to walk a mile to get anywhere. That helps put you in a relaxation mode and you do not feel the need to rush everywhere. Everyone is on "island time." Turks is so huge that the employees are too busy to talk with you and you feel as if you have to run a mile to get a quick ice-cream. There is a 4:1 ratio of employees to guests at Negril and it shows. The employees are friendlier, more talkative, and really help to make your stay a good one. At Turks, you feel as if you are on your own. The water park is bigger at Turks (my kids missed the surf simulator) but the slides are better at Negril. Diving is better at Turks. The dive shop is stricter and more professional in Turks. There are also more sharks and interesting sea life at that depth. Snorkeling is better at Negril. The crew would get in the water with you and guide you to interesting things. More colorful coral and lots of fish. The Beach party is hands-down better at Negril as there is a live Jamaican band, more tables, servers getting you drinks, and it is not crowded with long lines. The chocolate buffet is far more elegant at Negril and special thanks should go out to Craig for his attention to making it a terrific event. At Turks it felt like a cattle-call. There are more restaurants to choose from at Turks so that is better. My kids missed Bobby D's and Soy. My husband missed Cricketer's Pub. The beach is more pristine at Turks but livelier and more active at Negril. Negril has more water sports. *Turks is a pool resort while Negril is a beach resort*. There wasn't much nightlife at Turks. At Negril, there are a lot of young adults and even people without kids so it is a livelier more celebratory atmosphere. In Negril, it was easier for my kids to make friends as they saw them often and there were more kids in the 8-14 age range. There are drink waiters on the beach in Negril and a beach bar. Butler service is not obnoxious in Negril; in fact, you barely notice it. In Turks, if you didn't have a butler, you felt like a lower class citizen sometimes and were pushed back in lines (we didn't stand in a single line in Negril). The Butler guests got the majority of the shaded areas and most of the dinner reservations. Not so in Negril. The vibe of Jamaica is great. The people treat you like family and are extremely friendly. Due to that, I remember employee names (hence why people often thank certain employees in their Negril reviews. I never understood that until I visited). I do not remember any employee's name at Turks. Also the arrival and departure were better in Negril. No departure lounge in Negril (thank goodness as that was annoying in Turks and made me feel like a nuisance they couldn't wait to get rid of) and our arrival was super friendly. In Turks, we had concierge but no one came out to greet us. On our last day in Negril, we even had some employees give us hugs goodbye. Truly amazing. Don't get me wrong, we really enjoy T&C and would visit again in a heartbeat. However if you like resorts that are intimate, relaxing, and make you feel like family, you MUST go to Negril!


Date of Stay: 06/20/2013
Children in Party: 3


Kids (7-9)
Tweens (10-12)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


Save your money and go somewhere else nicer and cheaper by Mikegg
Well there is so much to say and so little space... Where do I begin.... First alittle background...

I have been to my share of all inclusive resorts all over the carribean and this one is by far the WORST and the MOST ... more EXPENSIVE.

The distance... Don't listen to what anyone tells you. It is a 1 1/2 hour drive from Montego Bay airport. I have been further from the airport but that is not what was explained to me.

The grounds... The grounds are not very well maintained. A lot of TLC is needed on this property and not a lot of work is being done. The entire resort needs a power wash and a fresh coat of paint. Additional plants and trees need to be put in. Walking to your room in building 700 and 800 you smell poop! The property is small and you see a lot of chain link fences and utility stations during your "scenic walks" around the property, all of this should be blocked from guests view. The property is old and only Has been, what seems to be partially renovated, through the years.

The pools... Small and not kept clean. The main pool is not large at all. All other resorts i have been to have a much larger pool. Only 35 chairs around the main pool. Yes I counted them :-) No lifeguard seen the entire week, although a sign says life guard on duty 9-5. Need better filtration in the pool, it is filled with bugs and junk, they need somebody skimming the pool every few hours. Broken tiles in the pool, just not maintained.

The rooms... The only good thing to say about the rooms is that they are clean. There is nothing beachy about them. As for the "beach front" or "ocean front" they don't exist, so don't book them!! Our beach front room was about 350 feet from the ocean and you could barely see the ocean from the room - this was after I refused the first "beach front" room which had me looking at another building. Nothing fancy about the rooms at all, basic basic basic. Did I mention this was supposed to be a "beach front honeymoon concierge deluxe"? Lol.

Concierge... Don't waste your money, you are getting nothing for the concierge service. The only thing you get is liquor to your room if you ask for it three times and wait three days. Again let me repeat you don't get anything for concierge it is just a scam so they charge you more.

Buffet Food... Let me start by saying that the food at my connecting airport in Orlando, at Chilis, was the best food I had all week!! The buffet was horrible, they had only about 10-12 hot dishes for each meal and about 8 of them were standards throughout the week. There was nothing "theme related" on their theme meals. Mexican night had no sights of tacos, borritos, etc. no fresh cooked burgers on the buffet for lunch. No fresh pancakes or waffles made to order for breakfast. As for the dinner carving stations the food sat for hours with nobody even there to cut it. Even kids were complaining that there was nothing to eat.

Specialty Food... Again every one needs a face lift. All are in need of faster service, it should not take 2 hours to have dinner. Serving almost the same quality food as at the buffet.

The beach... Now I will say that this is one of the nicest beaches I have been to. Beach is clean and beautiful, if the rest of the resort was maintained like the beach this review would be completely different. You can walk a good 30 feet into the water and still have the water below your shoulders. Clean ocean water too.

The bugs... Read the reviews and bring your bug spray!! There are bugs and sand fleas all over the beach, resort, and balconies. You will be eaten alive. It was so bad guests complained constantly about the bugs. And they charged $15 for bug spray. This is the only resort I have been to that does not fumigate every single morning, now I know why the others do.

The service... Slow slow slow. Buffet servers took forever to clear plates and bring water, the only two things they had todo. Concierge always said "we are on it and you will have it in a few minutes" but it literally took days.

The management... Surprise surprise the director of guest services who could actually do something about my room complaints wasn't in at 2pm on a Sunday. I was supposed to get a call from her but never did, guess she is tired of hearing everyone's complaints.

For the kids... First I don't have any kids but what I will tell you is that unless your child watches Sesame Street at home there will not be too much excitement there for him or her. I have been to other resorts with much much better kids programs.

The spa... The services were good but overpriced even compared to the USA. Nothing extra at the spa, just massage rooms.

Price... This resort is completely overpriced. For 5k a week for two adults I expected papering and world class food. I got neither.

Final recommendations... Don't stay here... Stay at Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton for under 3k and get a world class resort, world class food, and world class service!!! BUT if you must go to this resort: get a base room (they are practically all the same), skip concierge and with the extra money get a private cabana everyday, bring LOTS of bug spray, and be prepared to be dissatisfied with the resort, service, and food.

Date of Stay: 06/30/2012
Children in Party: 4


Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


The Ideal Family Vacation by Host Young Gang Mom
Upon reaching the airport in Montego Bay, we were greeted and relaxed in the Sandals Lounge where we were provided with refreshments and snacks. Our luggage was tagged and bagged and we were off to our hotel. When we got off the bus we ... more were greeted with cool towels and punch. Our room was upgraded to an ocean view, and though we didn't see much of the ocean we were very happy with the location, conveniently located next to the kids club, XBox Garage and dining.

There is something for everyone to do here and the staff was the highlight of the trip. They remembered us by name, often ran over to give the kids an hug and always had a smile on their faces and a dance in their step.

I will also be postng a trip review, this was an excellent stay. The only negative things I can say are that the pool bars and bathrooms needed a little work (resurfacing, re grouting, etc.) Also beware that this is a very humid environment and it will take some getting used to. I will make it a goal to revisit Beaches Negril Resort & Spa again.

Date of Stay: 10/01/2011
Children in Party: 2


Kids (7-9)
Tweens (10-12)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


Ultra all-inclusive...no longer Ultra! by collinsan
First, I want to say that we have stayed at this resort before many years ago when my son was quite young. As he will be going off to college soon, we wanted to revisit some of the fun things we did, but he was too young to remember. ... more Beaches Negril at one time was spectacular! I can no longer say this.

First upon checking in, we were not greeted warmly, did not receive the welcome drink, nor did we receive the warm towels. We sat for some time before someone came over to us. We were taken to our room by a very nice bellman. He asked if we had been there before and asked what room category we were in...when we got to the room both he and my family were shocked at the room. While the room was nice, it was not what we had expected. We over looked some sort of water treatment facility. He assured us this was not the correct room category and advised us to contact the front desk. I immediately went down and spoke to a manager. He said there was nothing he could do. The hotel was at capacity. Maybe in a day or two. I explained that I was "repeat guest" as well as booked through a CSS agency. Both entitled me to an upgrade. He informed me that no one was getting an upgrade...not one person.

My husband and son are usually fairly easy going and "live with" whatever we get. So I asked if they wanted me to pursue...I received an enthusiastic definitely. I finally was able to get a manager to the room. He was very condescending to me and basically would refer all of his answers to my husband as if I was being unreasonable. I was in the travel community for 18+ years. That you don't do! He said he would see what he could do and get back to me. What a surprise he never did!

The next day I went back down and there was someone in front of me that they received an upgrade but didn't' want it. She wanted the room category they booked. Needless to say, this infuriated me. Several of the managers told me no one was entitled to an upgrade due to the property being oversold. During the course of the week, I spoke with several other "managers". They wanted me to name our bellman so they could "reprimand" him for what he said. I wouldn't do that. He did come up to my husband later in the week to explain his fear of loosing his job, but he wanted to assure us, we did not get the category we booked.


Now to the "ultra" part. They advertise no tips....well, if you want service you had better tip. They do not hesitate to accept! Also, just about everything my son wanted to do was an "extra cost" They advertise these activities and it is not until you go to sign up that they spring the added cost. No mention of this in the adds in the daily program. This is after you tell your child they can do it! Then you become the bad guy when you say it costs too much! They advertise you don't have to pay for anything

Restaurants that are advertised as open, often time were not in the evenings. Entertainment....what a joke. Unless you come with a "large" group, that makes their own entertainment, you want find anything that is actually entertaining. We have been to other resorts that have truly good entertainment.

Made service was sketchy at best. Sometimes our room was not done until 4:30 or later when we were returning to the room to get ready for dinner. Turn down service...they have that? We only had this once during our stay. Not one time did we have the "towel" art that we had on our previous stays. All of these things made this resort worth the added cost.

Speaking of cost...we were unaware that if you stayed at Sandy Bay you had full use 24/7 of Beaches Negril. Since both hotels were at capacity, this put quite the burden on Beaches Negril. The pools were overcrowded, chairs hard to find and restaurants beyond capacity. We paid substantially more than the guests at Beaches Sandy Bay for a reason. But to be overloaded with hotel guests that paid for the lesser property did not sit well. We paid the extra, we should have not had it taken away by those that did not. We are not snobs, but we saved for this and to have it being abused by guests from another resort was hard to take.

The restaurants, especially the Mill, had horrible service. We would be seated, but then no one would come around for coffee/water. If you got up to get it your self (self-serve is not what I paid for), they would tell you to sit down and they would bring to your table. Then, you would not see them again...darn, we must not have tipped! Several times, the yogurt had already expired and most of the time, the hot items were empty. Waited over 1 hour to get into the Tex/Mex restaurant at lunch. We finally rearranged some furniture on the patio area and conned a waitress into taking our order...with a tip of course! Wouldn't have gotten anything if we didn't.

Most of the water toys were broken most of our stay. The boat that pulled the banana boat and skis was down the first three days. The water trikes never had more than 1 working at a time.

I could continue, but it would be a book! They do have a beautiful beach and the Dive Center is very good and very well run. Also, the photographers take great pictures and worth buying. I wish I could say this was my view only, but we spoke to many resort guests and they felt the same way. For the money, if I were to ever go to another Beaches, it would be Turks. However, we have decided, we will never go to another Sandals/Beaches property....

Date of Stay: 03/19/2011
Children in Party: 1


Tots (0-2)
Kids (3-6)
Kids (7-9)
Tweens (10-12)
Tweens (13+)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


Family FUN Vacation! by ldcamp
Great vacation for all! My husband, 7 year old boy/girl twins & I traveled to Beaches Negril for my children's Spring Break! We had an amazing vacation! This is the 2nd time we have been to this Beaches, the first time was in 2004, ... more when the children were only 9 months old. The beach is beautiful....white sand picture perfect....what's not to like? The only warning are the vendors that walk by & contiually ask you to look at tghis, buy this, get a massage, etc. If you are able to ignore it, you're good! The ocean was warm, calm & shallow....perfect! We stayed in a 1 Ocean Front Suite & had plenty of space. This is a GREAT vacation for the children! The children were so busy with activities, playing on the beach, playing in the ocean on the floats or snorkeling, in the pool or lazy river. My husband & I were actually able to sit back & relax knowing they were safe & having a great time! The staff was wonderful with the kids, continually playing with them & keeping an eye on them. They loved the independence!

There were some cons of this resort, especially factoring the price, customer service & food not great! Again, this is the kids! If you want 5 star you need to head to the Ritz, where the parents will be happy & the kids...not so much! The cabana rental is worth the $$$$$. The service is wonderful! My daughter has some food allergies & the Pastry Chef, Rayon, always watched out for her & made her special desserts! He was amazing! Also, Dorette ( a nanny) took care of our children when they were 9 months old & actually remembered them is wonderful! So warm & loving! When they were babies all she wanted to do was hold them, she still did even now them being 7. When they were in the nursery we had 3 nannies to our 2 children & all they wanted to do was love & hold them! We could see babies still getting that same treatment, which is so reassuring! I can not say enough about the child care & activities staff! My children want to go back for that sole reason!

Date of Stay: 03/26/2011
Children in Party: 2


Kids (7-9)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


We cried the day we had to leave Sandals Negril....!! by cmadam2000
Our stay at Sandals Negril was nothing short of a vacation in paradise.....!!!!
We think about the time we spent there every day, since the day we got back, and we have told all of our friends and family what a wonderful experience ... more it was.

We would like to say a few words about your staff members and a few special ones too...everyone at Sandals treated us with the most profound respect. The entire staff were very accommodating, friendly, courteous, and a true friend. They all made you feel as if it was a pleasure to them, that we were in Negril and at Sandals. Michael Jackson, who commandeered the ski boat for all of us was a prince. He taught us the proper, and very easy way to be able to get up on our ski's, and have a truly enjoyable time on the water. He was concerned about everyone that gave a try at water skiing. He was adamant about anyone who failed to get up on their ski's, to come back and try again. And, they did, and guess what.........they eventually succeeded, and got up on their ski's to enjoy all the fun.....all because of Michael Jackson from Sandals. Keisha Drummond is another staff member dear to our heart....we miss her alot. She was magnificent with her duties at the Bayside Cafe. We looked forward to seeing her smiling face every morning and afternoon and each evening that we dined at the Bayside Cafe. She is a sweetheart, and a very hard worker. Joleene at reservations where we re booked is another gem within the staff at Sandals Negril. She was solely instrumental in our decision to rebook for 2012. But, we are now planning to come back in 2011 and also 2012, that is how much we loved our stay at your fabulous resort. Derron was the first person from Sandals that we met as he helped us with our bags Saturday when we arrived. We saw him, it seemed, almost every minute the first three days we were there. He was so busy helping all the guests that were arriving or departing. Derron would stop for a few minutes each time to talk to us and make sure everything was fine with our stay at Sandals Negril.

My wife Robin, and I, and our children were completely blow away with our stay at Sandals. My daughter Jessica told me this evening at dinner that she had a fabulous time and she learned so much about the people of Jamaica. She mentioned about the friendliness, and also about the hard working traits of the Jamaican people. They made a difference in her life, in such a short period of time.

We, the Adam family, would love to thank you for giving us such a pleasurable and exciting vacation, it is an experience that is very dear to our hearts and something we will never forget.



Date of Stay: 08/10/2010
Children in Party: 1


Tweens (13+)


Jamaica me crazy! by sassydlm
We stayed at Beaches Negril in Jamaica with 10 other people in our party. We chose this resort mainly to suit the kids and because of the reviews. We were married in the gazebo on May 6th at 3:00 pm. We were blown away by the wonderful ... more hospitality from the time we arrived until the time we departed. All of the people we travelled with commented on the cleanliness of the resort and we all said how we would love to return. I look forwrd to our next vacation within another Beaches resort. Many thanks to all your employees at this location!!!!

Date of Stay: 05/02/2010
Children in Party: 1


Kids (7-9)
Tweens (10-12)


Beaches Negril-AWESOME!!! by jeanneg1988
My two sisters and I decided it was time we all got together for a family vacation. We wanted a vacation that everyone could enjoy. Beaches Negril was a perfect choice!! The kids had a blast! There were so many things for them to do ... more and the staff was so fun and upbeat. The kids loved all of the different choices of foods and beverages. The adults loved that they had no pressure of digging into their wallets every five minutes. It was truly an all inclusive.

The teens loved the karaoke night, parasailing and waverunners. The littler ones loved the ocean trampoline and banana boat ride. My niece was asked to participate in a fashion show of beach wear. She was so excited and proud to be asked! They had a comedy show for everyone. The food was delicious! We had dinner on the beach one night and hibachi the next. There was a buffet lunch everyday and the kids loved the swim up beach bar that provided non alcoholic and well as adult; frozen daiquiris and coladas. Would highly recommend this resort to families of all ages. Great as a reunion resort!!

Date of Stay: 07/11/2003
Children in Party: 1


Kids (7-9)
Tweens (10-12)
Tweens (13+)


Beaches Negril - Fabulous fun for a single Mom and her tween by jsaboe@lhs.org
My 12 year old son and I had a wonderful time at Beaches Negril. Beaches was the perfect vacation spot - the perfect mixture of relaxation and fun activities, all wrapped up together.

My son discovered a love of ... more snorkeling - we went on the snorkeling cruises/trips every day. The best part, as a parent, was that snorkeling (and all other activities, food, and drink) are included in the all inclusive resort so there are no additional costs to nickel and dime you to death once you arrive. We also had tons of fun in the water park; and all of the staff at the resort were fabulous!!

Date of Stay: 08/25/2009
Children in Party: 1


Tweens (10-12)


Thoroughly enjoyed Beaches Negril by lfrappier
I stayed at Beaches Negril with my 2 kids (ages 11 and 14) for March break and we all had a great and very relaxing time. There are many activities available for different ages but we loved the beach, pool and water park so much that we ... more didn't do much else. We did 2 of the complimentary snorkeling trips and found that the quality of snorkeling varies depending on where they take you. Both spots were worth the trip but not on par with the more known Caribbean snorkeling locations. The beach and water color are both amazing and right up there with the best Caribbean beaches. The water park is older but we all still enjoyed the 2 water slides and the lazy river.

The rooms were nothing special but they were clean and there was not shortage of hot water. It was also nice that they slipped an itinerary under your door each evening so that you knew all the events going on the next day. There was a great variety of good quality food at the several different restaurants and the kids loved being able to get hamburgers and fries at the counter right off the beach. In the evening we loved the TexMex style restaurant which had amazing strip loin steaks and decent service. We also really liked the fact that most of the restaurants do not take reservations so you can go whenever you want and still get a table. It really beats having to line up a day or more ahead to book your meals as is done at many resorts. Only the Japanese restaurant requires reservations and it is fun for 1 night, mainly for the entertainment value. The staff at the bars and restaurants were friendly and courteous and we certainly made good use of the swim-up bar! On that note, the quality of the alcohol is better than at many all-inclusive and the wine was also quite good (California wines). Fancier wines are also available for an addition charge.

Finally, although Beaches Resorts tend to be pricey, we found that we got the best deal by booking the room directly through the Beaches website and getting the flights separately. The Beaches website frequently has sales where this property is 40% off and this comes out to be cheaper than any package deal that we could buy from Toronto. Overall a very fun and relaxing vacation!

Date of Stay: 03/20/2010
Children in Party: 2


Tweens (10-12)
Tweens (13+)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


Great for kids, ok for adults by bporter
If you want your kids to have a blast this is a great place to go. Only downside in my opinion would be the lodging. Rooms were ok, a bit musty and ability to discuss other room options with management was nearly impossible unless you ... more wanted to pay very unreasonable, I mean ridiculous amounts.

Overall, I would recommend this resort, especially for the little ones, just be firm on your room happiness upon arrival.

Date of Stay: 04/01/2010
Children in Party: 2


Kids (3-6)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


Best Family Vacation We Have Ever Had! by mommychase
When I was trying to think of a title for my review, I struggled between the one above and this one: It's A Happy Day When Daddy Puts His Wallet Away! One of the great things about staying at an all-inclusive resort is that you pay in ... more advance- ONE TIME. This means you don't have to watch money go out of your pocket 10 or 20 times a day. For our family that is HUGE! My husband had more fun on this vacation than he has ever had! I do feel a large part of that had to do with not having to constantly pay for things.

Beaches Negril was amazing from the time we got there! The people of Jamaica are some of the happiest people I think I have ever encountered! They are welcoming, laid back, and happy all the time! No worries is a phrase I heard over and over! After a while at Beaches Negril, you buy into that mindset and you have no worries!

The rooms were very nice. We didn't spend much time there though- there was too much to do! We all had fun on the water slides and lazy river. The swim up smoothie bars were a big hit with our kids. We rarely let them order virgin daiquiris because they cost so much- here they could get as many as they wanted. The bartenders even let them make their own concoctions! There are self-serve soft ice cream stations, hamburgers, hot dogs, nuggets places.

The water sports are alot of fun. We snorkeled several times (they do different areas each day so go more than once if you,like it!) We did the banana boat- lots of fun! They even had a photographer there who posed us for a great family photo that we cherish(we did pay for that when we checked out)! They aren't pushy at all there though like in the theme parks.

They offer massage- my husband and I did a couples massage. It was great! They will do massage on the beach under a cabana. My daughter had a hair wrap right there on the beach. Everyday they had different people out on the beach doing things with the kids. One day they were opening coconuts and sugar canes and teaching the children about how to open them and drink the milk. Another day, a lady was teaching them how to weave palm leaf baskets and hats.

We went on several excursions-deep sea fishing, a trip to an open-air flea market, Riverwalk/waterfalls, Horseback Riding on the beach and in the water! It was all sooooooooo much fun! Again, the people are what makes it so much fun there. They were delightful! I think any age would have fun at Beaches Negril - don't let the Sesame Street Characters fool you into thinking it's a juvenile type place- it's not. We had a tween and a 13 year old and a 9 year old at the time we went.

The only criticism I have is the food at the resort restaurants. It was just okay. Nothing to rave about- but good. We all agree that it was our best vacation ever!

Date of Stay: 10/10/2007
Children in Party: 3


Kids (7-9)
Tweens (10-12)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


Heaven Found- Beaches Negril by corndoggish
My family and I love This Beaches resort. We also went with my mother-in-law and friends. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. The room was amazing. Steps from the white sand beaches and AWESOME water park. This resort had everything for ... more everyone. Not only did both kids like the Sesame Street activities, but we loved the family activities. The disco and piano bar was great for the adult time. We also, got a nanny. My kids loved her. We had dinner at the Teppanyaki grill. We loved our chef Martin. The small kids still remember him. All in all, we always recommend this resort. It has the best people, service and beaches. In fact, we are planning our next family vacation to Beaches for 2011.

Date of Stay: 09/27/2006
Children in Party: 1


Tots (0-2)
Tweens (13+)


Family Vacation by wendymh11
My husband and I have been to a few Sandals Resorts and couldn't wait to take our children with us. We knew they would love it. When we first arrived my daughter who was 11 at the time and I went straight to get our hair braided at the ... more hairdresser while my husband and son(8) walked around the resort. We went for New Years Eve and it is a New Years we all still talk about. There were so many activities for them, my daughter still wishes she would have done more. Now, my husband and I are going to be celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary and are planning on Renewing our Vows at Beaches. We honeymooned at Sandals Montego Bay and celebrated our 10th anniversary at Sandals Royal Caribbean. So what better place to Renew our vows, this way we will be able to have our children with us. So I definitely would recommend vacationing at Beach/Sandals whenever you get a chance. You will not be disappointed.

Date of Stay: 01/01/2001
Children in Party: 2


Tweens (10-12)
Tweens (13+)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


White sandy beaches by ludinlo
Hotel was good, not downtown, water was clean, beaches white and sandy. Lots of activities for the kids. ... more Hotel was good, not downtown, water was clean, beaches white and sandy. Lots of activities for the kids.

Date of Stay: 10/22/2009
Children in Party: 2


Kids (3-6)
Kids (7-9)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff



See what Family Vacation Critic has to say about the Beaches Negril
Read more about Beaches Negril Rooms

  •  
    FREE Family Travel Newsletter
  • Family Travel Tips   (4 New)

    Family Planning and Tips

    • 10 Best Orlando Resorts for Families
      So many hotels and resorts to choose from! Which ones really are the best for families in terms of theme-park access, amenities, and accommodations? Here are our favorites in the Orlando area! 1. Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creak Maybe it is the Hilton's water park with two zero-entry pools, a 3-acre ...
    • Skip This: Do That!
      Deciding where to go for your next family vacation? Often it's the most popular destinations -- from mega theme parks to world-famous beach towns -- that come to mind first. It's tempting to pick a familiar place and just go with what you know, but do this and you could be missing out on some fantas...
    • Disney Wonder Alaskan Cruise
      Join us onboard Disney Wonder's first exploration into Alaskan waters and ports as Family Vacation Critic Editor Lissa Poirot and her two tots take you on a tour. Be the first to see a sample of Disney's Alaskan Port Adventures, as well as glimpse the Disney Wonder's onboard fun, in our first-ever d...
    • Family Volunteer Vacations
      Away from the hectic pace of our everyday lives, any vacation is a chance for families to reconnect. There's no soccer game, no piano recital, no working late, so finally you have that precious day together. Yet, if you really want a meaningful break from your usual schedule, one that might change t...
  • Twitter
  • Facebook