Go Back   Family Vacation Critic Forums > Destinations

Forgot Your Password?

Notices

Destinations Where are your family travel plans taking you?

Old 08-05-2010, 12:40 AM
Family Adventurer

Default Washington DC trip.....

Hello ~

This is my first time on this site and I was wondering if anyone had advice or has been to Washington DC?
My husband and I are planning a trip with our 4 year old son here in a few weeks to travel from WI to Wash DC.
This will be our first time together traveling anywhere farther from home and I've been trying to do some research into "cheaper places to go on a tight budget".
Any information would be greatly appreciated and any sites I could look into as well.

Thank You,
Tina

Sponsored Links
Old 08-05-2010, 05:49 PM
Family Adventurer
Charter Member

How many nights do you plan on staying there?
And what's your accommodation budget?

Most sightseeing is free or relatively inexpensive (Smithsonian admission = Free, monuments & memorials = Free).

Our personal favorite to stay at is the Doubletree Guest Suites on New Hampshire Ave NW. It is within 1.5 blocks of the Foggy Bottom metro stop, making it convenient to get to most other locations. It's about a block from the Watergate (yes, yes, THE Watergate). The Watergate has a Safeway grocery store in the basement, and the Doubletree is all suites with cooking facilities (stove top, microwave, fridge). We will shop at the Safeway for all our breakfast needs, and at least half our dinners (less expensive than always eating out for dinner).

Depending on how long you're in DC, look into the multi day passes for the metro. If you want to go to the zoo, there's a metro station close by.

The Tourmobile (all day off & on privileges) is a great way to see & get to all the monuments (some of which are not very close to metro stations) as well as Arlington National Cemetary.

Old 08-05-2010, 06:53 PM
Family Adventurer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Myluvwyatt View Post
Hello ~