Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort Reviews

8505 West Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy., Kissimmee, FL
What do you think about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort?
Please Review This Hotel:
select a rating

71%
families recommend
 
 
  14 family reviews

Week with roaches by melleemagic
Well, upon checking in, I was impressed with the grounds, and even the 2BR/2Bath was very nice looking. It looked clean and neat. I was put off by the very pushy time-share sales lady (I am not an owner).

Once we were in ... more our unit, however, we noticed very large roaches running about. I called the office, and the girl answering the phone was rude and laughed at me..."well, it IS Florida". Well, this is not my first trip to Florida, and I've not had to live with roaches before. They did send an exterminator (supposedly), but the problem continued. Seemed to be really bad in the one BR/bath, so we all stayed in one bedroom and shared the bath. I planned on making meals there, but there were roaches in the kitchen. Huge ones. Lots of them. We ate out, which drove our costs up.

At first I just kept scrubbing everything, but the roaches kept coming back, running all over. Ick. Upon checking out, the cleaning person dumped "clean" bags of bedding on the ground outside, waiting for us to leave - no wonder the roaches were inside! They were practically invited in! The laundry facilities are also outside, which probably lends to the problem. Other than that and some rude staff, it was a nice place, with nice pools.

Date of Stay: 06/06/2014
Children in Party: 3


Kids (7-9)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


problems all the way by mailmanbob
Orange lake is a resort in Kissimmee, FL near Orlando. It's also near Disney, Sea World, and many other attractions. Orange Lake can be a self contained vacation. There are several pools, a lazy river, golf courses, mini golf courses, ... more hot tubs, boats on the lake and many other things to do. There are no cash transactions except if you are buying gift cards that can be used in place of your credit cards. It is said to be the flag ship of Holiday Inn and the biggest and best resort in the fleet.

The good
Lots to do
Close to many restaurants and attractions
Clean and tidy
Shuttle service around the resort

Bad
A little pricy
Long distance to get places depending on where you stay
If you have problems, don't expect anything to be done about it.
Bottom line

It's a nice place but there are so many other nice places nearby. I would not recommend staying here. The staff can be very rude and inattentive. Watch your cards because they will add extra stuff to your bill and do nothing about it if you catch it. My opinion: Crooks, inconsiderate workers, rude people. If you don't have any problems, good place to go. Otherwise, don't go here.
here.

Date of Stay: 01/12/2013
Children in Party: 1


Tots (0-2)
Kids (3-6)
Kids (7-9)
Tweens (10-12)
Tweens (13+)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


Enter dates for best prices



Relax stay around Golf course by Timeshare buddy
We stayed over the spring break with the family for one week in this beautiful resort, our one bedroom unit is clean and functional with washer and dryer inside and the back faces the golf course with screened porch.

The ... more resort is very large with ponds and wild life. We took our nature walk and made discoveries along the way. The main pool was heated, but the pool near our building in the north side was not heated, it was unbearable to swim in it with temperature in the 60s. The stay is pleasant for us, we found the staff in the resort are friendly and helpful.

Our only complaint is that there are roaches in the building, but with dumping the garbage outside the dumpster every night before sleep kept the critters at bay. The staff were very helpful with the repairs of the unit and refilled the necessities.

Date of Stay: 03/25/2013
Children in Party: 2


Tweens (13+)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


Going again next year! by qah243
Orange Lakes Country Club and Resorts in Orlando, Florida was a great experience, from the services to the people who were willing to help in every way they can. Two of our friends had to leave a few days early than us and the staff even ... more took out a little time to print out departing boarding passes for them. We went as a family with a few friends and it was one of the best weeks of our lives. There were many activities such as a water park with one of the world's biggest inflatable water slides.There were also many ways to relax there and the rooms were gorgeous. Orange Lakes is unimaginable, you would have to spend a week there to experience it to know how amazing it really is.

Date of Stay: 07/05/2012
Children in Party: 2


Kids (3-6)
Tweens (13+)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


Great Family Vacation! by NYmomofour
We took our family for a last family vacation before our daughters went off to college. We flew our daughter and son-in-law down from New York for 10 days at Orange Lake Resort. We were planning on going to Disney World and Epcot. We ended ... more up spending most of our time in the Lazy River and pools at the Resort instead. We only went to Epcot and absolutely loved the convenience of having it right in the "backyard." Each night we could watch the fireworks from the Magic Kingdom right out our balcony!! It was the BEST vacation to date. I lost my credit card and the staff at Orange Lake helped me to get it corrected and had a new card delivered to my resort door the next day. We own a timeshare and cannot wait until we can go again!!

Date of Stay: 07/27/2010
Children in Party: 2


Tots (0-2)
Kids (3-6)
Kids (7-9)
Tweens (10-12)
Tweens (13+)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


Our home away from home... by THEFUDDYS
We have been owners here for years and decided to bring our friends with us this year. We had 9 of us in a 3 bedroom condo and it was a perfect fit. The kids never had a dull moment and we spent all day playing. Every night we got to ... more watch the fireworks from Disney from the balcony (when we weren't at the park itself). We love how close Orange Lake is to everything and even a trip to Clearwater Beach was a little over an hour, which was perfect for us.

I have read other reviews complaining about the smell from Animal Kingdom and it isn't a surprise when you buy here that it backs onto the park. We have only ever had a bad smell on Wednesdays and Sundays (when they clean the Kingdom) and it's never been as bad as people say. Then again we have been to farms, etc and understand that's a way of life.

There is so much to do at the resort that you don't even have to leave if you don't want to. We have even tried out a new pool on every trip! The kids had a blast doing the Halloween activities and we would make sure to do another holiday at Orange Lake!

Anytime we have had a complaint or something missing/needing repair in our room it was corrected immediately with helpful, courteous maintenance workers. We have even had a major repair needed while we were there and it was corrected within the hour.
As for things like beds not being comfortable etc. it's still a "hotel" and as such they can't please everyone all the time. We have never had a problem with the beds but everyone has their own preference and as such you adjust.

I guess it's something you need to experience for yourself, but I can tell you that having a vacation with 5 kids ranging from 2-14 we had a fantastic time and are looking forward to our trip this year! We tend to cook our own food in the condo but that is just so we have more money to spend at the parks, shopping etc. It's nice to have a full kitchen and we have even baked cookies, and cakes there before. Do beware that it is a timeshare and as such the sales staff will try to sell you a condo, as this is their job, so if you have any complaints DO NOT GO TO THE SALES STAFF, go to housekeeping/repairs directly, the phone number is right in the room!

****A VERY SATISFIED RETURNING FAMILY*****



Date of Stay: 10/29/2011
Children in Party: 5


Tots (0-2)
Kids (3-6)
Kids (7-9)
Tweens (10-12)
Tweens (13+)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


Smell and uncleanliness ruined our vacation by MomCuebas
I have been an owner at Orange Lake for several years and my family stays at the Orlando resort almost every year. This past Christmas holiday, I had saved up points so that I was able to reserve 3 units (Two 2-bedroom units and a studio) ... more so our family could spend the holidays together. I have never been more embarrassed or disappointed in my life.

The smell at the resort is disgusting! They say it is from Animal Kingdom. It was so bad my daughter actually vomitted on the sidewalk while we literally ran from the car to get inside the condo. The beds were horrible - the springs were shot and my husband and I actually rolled into each other in the middle of the bed. I have slept on air mattresses that were more comfortable. There were missing pans, dirty coffee cups, the sheets smelled like mildew. My sister, who is an owner at Bonnett Creek (a beautiful resort on Disney property) was with us and could not believe I actually bought in this place.

When I went to my owners update and tried to tell them how disappointed I was and explained all the problems we were having, he only tried to sell us more points. NOTHING was done for us...NOTHING!!!!! I called once we returned home to again tell them how disappointed I was in my stay and they apologized but could do nothing about it. Vacationers beware...we were told by the staff that the smell from Animal Kingdom is actually worse during the summer months!

Date of Stay: 12/23/2011
Children in Party: 6


Kids (3-6)
Kids (7-9)
Tweens (10-12)
Tweens (13+)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


my lil fairytale by audra1214
well i stayed here the very first time i ever not only visited florida but it was also my very first time ever seeing the ocean. i was like ten and i was wowed by the entire expirience. while we were there we went to the beach, disney ... more world, and also hung out at the resort for a couple days. this was like 15 years ago, and the place even looks nicer now than then. i gave you all 5's on your lil survey except for location. and i did this only because from what i can remember it took forever to get to disney???? i was little and very excited at the time so probably seemed longer to get there than it really was?????lol anyways i recamend this resort to anyone with a family and thats looking for a wonderfull resort to take them to. heck i would go there all by my self and have just as much fun relaxing at the resort the entire time right now! so two thumbs up and five stars from me!!!!!!!!

Date of Stay: 01/01/1900
Children in Party: 3


Tots (0-2)
Kids (3-6)
Kids (7-9)
Tweens (10-12)
Tweens (13+)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


disappointed with administration by bauger
As an owner of week 27, I was told that the condo #87646, 2 bed,2 bathroom, in east village was to be refurbished and it was not,WHY? WHEN?

Condo fees are already high enough that when statements are made they should be ... more adhered to.

The pool water at lazy river was not as clean/clear as in past years.

Food in the restaurants was good, so was the service.

The condo was clean,with all the amenities expected.

Shuttle on property was great.

Looking forward to see the positive changes July 2012

Date of Stay: 07/03/2011
Children in Party: 1


Accommodations
Dining
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


Better than Anticipated! by abggglopez
We stayed at Orange Lake Resort 11/5/11-11/12-11. There were 4 of us(2 adults, 11yr old, & 2yr old). We had a fantastic time! Although we did not do any of the Disney Theme parks, it was still only a short drive to the other parks. We ... more even drove one day to Tampa to go to Busch Gardens. We stayed in the River Landing complex on the second floor. I would have loved to be on the 1st floor, where you could walk right out to the water area. Our room was very spacious, but in need of an update decorating wise. It had 2 bedrooms. In the master Suite, there was a king size bed, with an adjoining master bathroom. My daughters LOVED the jacuzzi tub. The other bedroom had 2 double beds. There was another bathroom with shower, kitchen, living room, & an enclosed patio. The weather was gorgeous-in the 80's. So of course we tried out the pool. The water was still pretty cold. I would have loved if the water was heated. There were water slides, pools, & lazy river. Of course my 2yo was too small to go on the water slide. I would have loved to see a toddler section in that area. They may have had one in another area of the resort.

One of the neat features outside was an sand area with hammocks. They were shaded by trees. We loved that. We also walked around & saw a huge inflatable slide, mini golf, & a bungee trampoline. But you had to pay extra for everything including the tube rentals. We did see restaurants, little stores, an arcade.

The staff was attentive & eager to help. We did have to go through a timeshare presentation. That was the worst part. They just wouldn't take no for an answer. Our first agent was a very nice woman. But after we said no, agent after agent tried to pressure us. I did not like that at all.

I would definitely stay there again, albeit no timeshare presentation! It was a beautiful resort.

Date of Stay: 11/05/2011
Children in Party: 2


Tots (0-2)
Tweens (10-12)
Accommodations
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


Jaw-dropping stay at Orange Lake!! LOVED IT!! How about 1400 sq ft???? by Tomohawk
Picture this: You arrive at the impressive check-in facility...drive to your recently updated condo building...unload your stuff and place the key into the front door and...WOW!! For the price, the "room" was absolutely ... more incredible!! Marble entry, 3 bedrooms with tasteful decor and substantial furniture (looked like Raymour and Flannigan High end!!), granite bathrooms (3!!) granite kitchen, stainless steel appliances...TONS of storage space, awesome living room, huge balcony overlooking a large pond and manicured golf course...and within a 5 minute drive of WDW!!! That's just the "room!" The lazy river, on-site dining (fast food mostly, but still not bad), golf, lots of walking, sandy play areas, kids activities, etc. etc. etc. made our stay a very memorable one. Thanks, Holiday Inn...we REALLY enjoyed our stay.

Date of Stay: 01/07/2011
Children in Party: 2


Tots (0-2)
Kids (3-6)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


Great time! by karbear1976
I always check reviews before doing something new or staying at a new location. You never know what you are going to get into so I wanted to make sure to write a review. I understand that sometimes you can't please people even if you ... more bend over backwards so you can't take each review literally.

I was very impressed with Orange Lake Resort from the time we entered the complex. Check-in was not until 5:30pm, but we actually arrived the night before so got to the resort by noon on our check-in date. They were very nice and checked us in. We had requested two units side by side for our family and they took the time to find us the two units next to each other.

I went for a walk upon arriving and came across a family fighting loudly and I thought if I had my phone I would call security. Someone was apparently thinking the same way. I got 2 houses away and 3 security personnel were on their way. I was impressed. By the screaming and yelling going on, I really thought someone was going to get hurt.

As far as the wristbands go, you really don't need them. Our little one would not go on the trampoline and was too small for the rock wall. So the only thing it did for us was give us tubes for the lazy river which you don't need. You can swim in there. But we got ours discounted by going to listen to a timeshare presentation. We did the presentation because we like the discount we were going to get and there were a total of eight of us. BUT would never do it again. They told us that there would not be any pressure. HAHA - and it would only last 1 hour. Well it lasted two hours and there was pressure. After your initial guy tried 3 times, he calls another guy to show you another deal, then another guy, then finally the marketing guy comes because he is the one that is going to show you where to go to get your "tickets" and then he pressures with another deal then he would not let us proceed until we put $$$$ in a box to help handicap children go somewhere. I think that should be a personal choice and not be pressured. We are a family that contributes a lot per year and shouldn't be pressured into something else unless we were willing.

So to some it up we thought the resort itself was great, just not the timeshare presentation deal!!!

We were also really close to all the Disney Parks and shopping and all.

Have a great time.

Date of Stay: 09/10/2011
Children in Party: 1


Tots (0-2)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


fun in the sun with out breaking the bank by sandyyeager
Orange Lake Resort, what can I say? this place is great from when you first drive up and go through there speedy check in to the easy access of their grounds. Orange Lake is a huge resort but easy to find you way around. we stayed on the ... more 6th floor of a 2 bedroom resort at night we could see mount everest from animal kingdom and when the moon hung over it it was beautiful. the place it self was warm and inviting. The rooms were large, the beds were so comfortable you melted. The bathrooms huge. i love the fact that my family could sit eat or watch tv while i was in the kitchen. Even from the dinner table we could see mount everest. the colors int he room were warm and inviting, carpets were cleaned and the room had no odor to it. When we went into the room the air was set on 40 degrees so after cleaning out the car and hauling the luggage up it was nice to walk in put the bags down and cool off right away.

Orange Lake had several pools but we stayed near River Falls, this is were the lazy river and the slides for the kids were. it was nice got a little crowded at a point but having too much fun to care. the kids were all over the place. One thing i did not like was because we were only staying two nights they would not give us fresh towels with a charge.other than that I would recommend Mickey Mouse himself to stay here.

Date of Stay: 04/30/2010
Children in Party: 5


Kids (7-9)
Tweens (10-12)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


The Ulitmate in Family Resorts with something for everyone! by rmatarrese
This place is amazing. The resort is impeccably maintained and has every conceivable diversion right on site. There is a lake with beach and a variety of watercraft for rent, three golfcourses including a smaller 9 hole course, three ... more huge theme pools and many others scattered about the property, tennis courts, basketball, racquetball, horseshoes, volleyball, mini golf, ping pong, billiards, game rental, playgrounds, fire pit for sing alongs and plenty of planned daily family activities. The largest pool complex, River Island has a lazy river and water slides, hammocks, and cabanas. You could stay on site all week long and never get bored.

The units are large and very well appointed. The one we were in was recently renovated with all the conveniences of home including washer and dryer a complete fully equipped kitchen with granite counters and separate dining room and jetted tub in the master bath. There are several restaurants and all served terrific food.

It is a large resort and getting from one amenity to another may well best be suited for having your own car, but there is also a resort shuttle that covers all facilities. We had to spend several days at the nearby theme park during our stay and did not get to take advantage of everything the resort had to offer, so we plan to come back again soon.

Date of Stay: 03/02/2010
Children in Party: 3


Tots (0-2)
Kids (3-6)
Kids (7-9)
Tweens (10-12)
Tweens (13+)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff



See what Family Vacation Critic has to say about the Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort
Related Links:
Kissimmee, Florida Resorts:

  •  
    FREE Family Travel Newsletter
  • Family Travel Tips   (4 New)

    Family Planning and Tips

    • 10 Best Orlando Resorts for Families
      So many hotels and resorts to choose from! Which ones really are the best for families in terms of theme-park access, amenities, and accommodations? Here are our favorites in the Orlando area! 1. Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creak Maybe it is the Hilton's water park with two zero-entry pools, a 3-acre ...
    • Skip This: Do That!
      Deciding where to go for your next family vacation? Often it's the most popular destinations -- from mega theme parks to world-famous beach towns -- that come to mind first. It's tempting to pick a familiar place and just go with what you know, but do this and you could be missing out on some fantas...
    • Disney Wonder Alaskan Cruise
      Join us onboard Disney Wonder's first exploration into Alaskan waters and ports as Family Vacation Critic Editor Lissa Poirot and her two tots take you on a tour. Be the first to see a sample of Disney's Alaskan Port Adventures, as well as glimpse the Disney Wonder's onboard fun, in our first-ever d...
    • Family Volunteer Vacations
      Away from the hectic pace of our everyday lives, any vacation is a chance for families to reconnect. There's no soccer game, no piano recital, no working late, so finally you have that precious day together. Yet, if you really want a meaningful break from your usual schedule, one that might change t...
  • Twitter
  • Facebook