Kalahari Resort Wisconsin Dells Reviews

1305 Kalahari Dr, Wisconsin Dells, WI
What do you think about Kalahari Resort Wisconsin Dells?
Please Review This Hotel:
select a rating

77%
families recommend
 
 
  1132 family reviews

Great times! Fun in the water without the worry of sun burn/bugs! by Cleowyn
The indoor water park area is a great time for all ages! When you are tired of swimming you can do the indoor theme park that has a Ferris wheel, go-carts, lazer tag, and bowling. Not to mention the multitude of arcade games. It was a lot ... more of fun. If you go, I would recommend at least doing two if not three nights because there is a LOT to do and it is so fun! You can also request a late check out. If you go on a Friday or Saturday though be prepared to wait to check in. We had two children under the age of two with us and a 10 year old. We also met our friend there with her four kids (ages 1- 7). We will go back :)

Date of Stay: 08/17/2013
Children in Party: 3


Tots (0-2)
Tweens (10-12)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


Not worth monitoring credit - stay elsewhere (Wilderness is my suggestion) by krissykBrookfield
I decided to take a one day getaway with my 3 children. Since my husband couldn't come, my mother came along to help.

The employees were great. Whether at the restaurants, in the park, kids craft area, or shops, they always ... more asked if we were enjoying our staying and they were friendly and enthusiastic. Brigitte was a great help decorating shirts and pillowcases. The restaurant staff was also great answering my food questions since my 2 year old daughter has an autoimmune disorder and I have to watch what foods she consumes.

I had a little issue with the Flowrider. My son saw the kids using it on Wednesday around 8:30 p.m. I saw a sign that said you could go to the front counter to inquire about Flowrider lessons. I went up to the counter around 8:45 p.m. as we were leaving. The employee at the front counter said I could sign two of my children up for lessons at 7:30 a.m. since that was the only opening. We said that it was fine. She took our information and then said she was sorry, but I needed to sign up prior to 8 pm the night before. My children were a little disappointed, but it wasn't a big deal. (We didn't see that rule listed anywhere, so I wanted to make you aware of it in case other families encounter this situation.)

The two problems I encountered seemed to be operational issues that should run smoothly.

1) check in is at 4 pm. I was told it was an extremely busy time and that if you could come a little later, lines aren't as long. I arrived at 5 pm and only waited in line a few minutes, which was great. However, the employee at check-in said that our room wasn't ready. She said she couldn't believe it and kept checking the system. It was a 2 room suite (when I had called to make the reservation, this was part of an upgrade package). She tried checking for 10 more minutes and said she didn't know why it wasn't ready and that "they weren't that busy". Since I had three eager children waiting in the car, I said we would eat dinner rather than have me stand there and waste more time. She gave me an 800 number to call later to see if our room was ready. Around 6 pm I called and was told our room was finally ready. I left my mother and children at the restaurant so that I could stand in line again and finally get my room. I understand that if we arrive before the check-in time, the room might not be ready. It seems unreasonable to me that a room isn't ready until 2 hours after your listed check-in time.

2) I like to use our room key to charge. I feel safer carrying that around a water park rather than my credit card or cash. I wasn't able to use it for dinner since we didn't have a room yet. I used the room key twice that night for after swimming snacks. We decided to eat breakfast before swimming for the morning. I went to the Great Karoo with my room key. The employee said my card was not valid. He tried swiping it several times. He said it showed no one was checked in with that room number or last name. Luckily my mom had my credit card packed in one of her bags, so we were able to pay for our meal. He also said he would check into it while we were eating. After we were finished, I found out that the employee never checked into the room key - the restaurant was busy, so it was understandable. I had my mom take my children to the waterpark so that I could sort out this mess. I stood in the front desk line for about 10 minutes and spoke to an employee about the situation. She said that the room was under the name of Izzard (or something similar) and that it wasn't under my name. My name wasn't anywhere in the system. I showed her my express checkout receipt showing my name and my room number. She said that the system must have had a "hiccup". It was 9:30 a.m. and I was told I couldn't use my room key until they figured it out. She even called over another employee and they couldn't figure out why my name wasn't listed on the room and why it showed we were checked out. We stayed until 3 p.m. and I used my credit card the entire time for the shops, restaurants, and kids crafts. I will be monitoring the charges on my credit card to make sure that the only room key charges are the two times I used it on Wednesday night.

We typically come to WI Dells for a weekend in the winter and a week in the summer. We stayed at the Kalahari about 5 years ago, but have recently been staying at the larger condos at the Wilderness. I understand that little things can happen; however, these were issues I found unacceptable. I was checking in after check in time and my room should have been ready. I shouldn't have to worry about someone else be listed under my room and then being told that my room key was declined as payment for breakfast. The registration desk seemed to be baffled by the two things that had happened to me. I was offered a "I'm really sorry, but we don't know what is going on with the system." To pay over $350 for a room that wasn't ready and then encounter the mis-matched room key/name, was not worth it to me. I would rather spend my money elsewhere. After countless emails and weeks, I have not received a response from Kalahari.

WE'VE STAYED AT THE WILDERNESS FOR YEARS - WE MADE THE MISTAKE OF TRYING SOMETHING NEW.

Date of Stay: 03/19/2014
Children in Party: 3


Tots (0-2)
Kids (3-6)
Tweens (13+)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


Enter dates for best prices



Summer vacation in the mid Winter by araceligarcia78
The best to stay during the winter break!! No need to go elsewhere, everything is accomodated inside,Restaurants,movie theater,bowling and huge Indoor Waterpark/theme park!!!
I mean what more do you need in order to enjoy a hot ... more summer vacation in the middle of the winter..

Date of Stay: 12/23/2012
Children in Party: 4


Tots (0-2)
Kids (3-6)
Kids (7-9)
Tweens (10-12)
Tweens (13+)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


Visit at the Dells by cmommy
My husband and I had heard great reviews about this resort and had finally decided to check it out. It wasn't a disappointment by any means. I don't think we'd expected it to be as large as it was. I certainly didn't expect it to have ... more everything you would want or need right inside the resort! There was so many things for the kids to do and see but so little time.
When we first arrived there was a rush of people registering which reminded me of my first trip to Vegas. A little overwhelming to say the least, but once we registered and found our room we weren't disappointed. The room was clean and had a safari theme which was done tastefully. They all came with a fridge and microwave which comes in handy when you have smaller children who seem to always be hungry or thirsty. We were able to get a room on the main floor which had a patio equipped with table and chairs. We were also within a short walking distance to the water parks and amusement park which was great. They had a theatre and several restaurants to choose from. Which not only catered to adults but as well as children. There is also an outlet mall that's only a couple minutes away which I took advantage of right away!
Having everything close by made our trip so much more enjoyable. My only complaint would be the cost. We were only able to stay two nights but really wanted to stay longer. The price of the room does include the water park admission but is still a bit pricey considering you have to pay for the amusement park and other activities separately. So with a family of five all of those extras can really add up. This is something I will be better prepared for when we go next summer. Yes, we are planning a second trip!
I'm not sure who had more fun, the kids or my husband and I. Either way we can't wait to go back!

Date of Stay: 07/01/2012
Children in Party: 2


Tots (0-2)
Kids (3-6)
Kids (7-9)
Tweens (10-12)
Tweens (13+)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


Africa would have been better for the Money! by laesjb
When we checked the website, we could not tell what rooms were available and what the prices were. It was one of the worst reservation sites that we have ever visited. We finally called and got a person on the line to tell us what was ... more available and what the extra charges were. There were a LOT of them!

Upon arrival to the Kalahari, we waited in a line of cars just to find out that our room was not ready and that it would be at least another hour. The first problem was that they had our name wrong. Then we found out, 4 hours later, that they had not given us the comp tickets to a show that was promised. We had to wait in another line to get those.

Check in took more than an hour! There were 5 people behind the desk and they were helping 1 or 2 people. When we got to the desk, we were told that there were a lot of people checking out and that was why we were stuck in line. No oen ever appologized or offered any consideration!

When we finally got room keys 2 of the 4 worked. There were no carts available to take our belongiings to our room. There was no one around to help with getting our belongings to our room. When you pay over $200 a night, you would expect at least 1 person to either help or tell you where to get a cart to load.

The room was small, unclean and there were hornets on our balcony. There was also a hornet's nest above the door to our balcony. Unbelievable!

The pool at the hotel closes before sundown. There were band-aids floating in the water of the indoor wave pool and the pools at the bottom of the water slides. It was dirty!

Lastly, you are charged for the theme park, the movie theatre and everything other than the indoor and outdoor water parks. WHAT A RIP OFF! We won't be back!!!

Date of Stay: 07/01/2012
Children in Party: 2


Tweens (13+)
Accommodations
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


Ringing in the New Year Kalahari Style by christinerojas@live.com
If you want your family to start their New Year (or any day fo the year for that matter)with excitement, big smiles, and lots of fun family bonding experiences, then take a trip to the Kalahari hotel and water park in the Wisconsin ... more Dells!

We have been going to the Kalahari since our children were 2 and 4 (they are now 8 and 10). We have made it a tradition for the last three years to spend our New Years Eve there and all of us, kids and adults, have a wonderful time. This year my sister and her family will be joining us as well.

We have been to many water parks and this one is beyond compare. The "Master Blaster" high speed water roller coaster is worth the trip in itself and the surfing simulation is incredibly fun... and challenging. What we have always appreciated is that there is something for every single age and level of bravery.

The indoor amusement park is another adventure to not be missed, and again, caters to all ages. We love the ropes course, rock climbing and laser tag. The kids enjoy the video games and my husband enjoys the huge go cart track.

Besides the amusement parks we always enjoy painting a ceramic craft and bringing it home as a souvenir. We also highly recommend the great food at the many restaurants available and if you are there on New Years they offer an amazing New Year's buffet and fun after party with bar and DJ.

We will be there this New Year's again to ring in the New Year Kalahari style.. hope to see you there.

Date of Stay: 01/01/2011
Children in Party: 2


Kids (7-9)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


Having Fun in the Dells by mayesshauna@yahoo.com
I really like the Kalahari. I went during the week so it wasn't as busy as I'm sure the weekends are, but we had a blast. The waterpark is fun for all ages! My daughter who is 10 loved the slides. The only thing that wasn't the best was ... more the food. It was kind of blah considering the price. It was like going to the movies and paying outrageous prices for old boxed candy. Hope this helped!

Date of Stay: 08/23/2010
Children in Party: 3


Kids (3-6)
Tweens (10-12)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


Not disappointed! by jgtaylor24
We have been to the Kalahari in the past and once again, we were not disappointed. I was a bit leary about going during the kids' spring break from school but, although there were lots of people there, the waterpark, theme park and hotel ... more did not seem too busy. Our room was ready when we got there at 12:30pm although check in is not officially until 4pm. We were thrilled about that. I asked for a room in the main lodge and my request was granted. The room was clean and neat. Nothing too fancy. We ate dinner at Damon's in the hotel. I asked for the chicken nachos but there was no chicken. The waitress did not charge me for the missing chicken but she didn't credit us anything either. For the kids meal, we had to pay extra for milk but could get soda for free. To encourage healthier choices, it would have been nice if the milk was included. We went to the indoor themepark after dinner. The prices are a bit much ($6/person to ride the go karts, $7/person for the rock climbing wall). We had to wait quite awhile for the rides but the kids did great. We could have gotten wrist bands for unlimited rides ($10 for 6 and under; $20 for 7 and up). With the lines and the choices, we did not get our 7 year old daughter a wrist band; we would not have gotten our money's worth.

We were glad the water park opened at 9am for hotel guests and not until 10am for others. We went right away and headed to the rides that have long wait lines. It was definitely worth it. The indoor themepark did not open until 10am for anyone. It might have been nice if that opened at 9am also.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We had not been to Damon's before nor had we used the themepark. Those are nice alternatives to the water park. We'll be back.

Date of Stay: 03/31/2011
Children in Party: 2


Kids (3-6)
Kids (7-9)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


Family Indoor Waterpark Trip by jrbyone
My young children absolutely loved the indoor waterpark at Kalahari. My oldest son was not very impressed. He was pleased that there is a movie theater within walking distance, and he spent a lot of time there. The wife and I thought it ... more was ok, we really only went for the childrens sake.

Date of Stay: 04/02/2010
Children in Party: 3


Kids (7-9)
Tweens (10-12)
Tweens (13+)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff


Surfing up the mighty waves! by latonyarw
My family and I stay at the Kalahari Resort and Spa every few months. It's our favorite family getaway. I must admit, the prices are a bit steep, however because I hold military status, I am able to get a decent discounted rate. This rate ... more is offered to military personnel, police officers and fire fighters. Without the discount, my family would be limited to one visit a year.

Everything about this resort is dynamic. We visit in the summer as well in the winter. There's so much to do, my children are never bored! Once we check in, we never leave the resort grounds until it's time to check out a few day's later. The water-park caters to everyone, including the non-swimmers. The boat and tube rides, as well as the wave pools provide hours of fun and entertainment. There are life guards on duty, and when I get tired, I enjoy relaxing in a chair which watching the surfers!

There are delicious restaurants all over the resort. We love the pizza. After the water-park closes, we usually visit the sweet hut where my favorites are the fresh dipped caramel apples, chocolate covered strawberries, and hand-packed ice cream. My absolute favorite is the Kalahari fried ice cream. It's to die for!

We typically begin our days at the theme park where my children enjoy rock climbing, go-carting, mini gulf and arcade games before enjoying a night of family bowling. My children also love the attached movie theater, because it always has the latest blockbusters! We can never get enough of the Kalahari resort and Spa. The rooms are spacious and beautiful. We always reserve one of the three room suites which provides us with a full kitchen, 3 televisions, 2 full restrooms, and plenty of room to spread out. We've already made reservations for next month and can't wait to check in!

Walls Family!

Date of Stay: 05/27/2009
Children in Party: 4


Kids (3-6)
Kids (7-9)
Tweens (13+)
Accommodations
Dining
Kids Play Area
Money Value
Pool & Water Fun
Staff



See what Family Vacation Critic has to say about the Kalahari Resort Wisconsin Dells

  •  
    FREE Family Travel Newsletter
  • Family Travel Tips   (4 New)

    Family Planning and Tips

    • 10 Best Orlando Resorts for Families
      So many hotels and resorts to choose from! Which ones really are the best for families in terms of theme-park access, amenities, and accommodations? Here are our favorites in the Orlando area! 1. Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creak Maybe it is the Hilton's water park with two zero-entry pools, a 3-acre ...
    • Skip This: Do That!
      Deciding where to go for your next family vacation? Often it's the most popular destinations -- from mega theme parks to world-famous beach towns -- that come to mind first. It's tempting to pick a familiar place and just go with what you know, but do this and you could be missing out on some fantas...
    • Disney Wonder Alaskan Cruise
      Join us onboard Disney Wonder's first exploration into Alaskan waters and ports as Family Vacation Critic Editor Lissa Poirot and her two tots take you on a tour. Be the first to see a sample of Disney's Alaskan Port Adventures, as well as glimpse the Disney Wonder's onboard fun, in our first-ever d...
    • Family Volunteer Vacations
      Away from the hectic pace of our everyday lives, any vacation is a chance for families to reconnect. There's no soccer game, no piano recital, no working late, so finally you have that precious day together. Yet, if you really want a meaningful break from your usual schedule, one that might change t...
  • Twitter
  • Facebook